User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 92
  2. Negative: 57 out of 92
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2018
    10
    Probably the best Soul Calibur to play right now. On par with first and second. 2 good campaign modes. Art and audio harks back to old days of the series but modernized. Does a great job of retelling the Soul Calibur story from many different perspectives and is the most coherent way to consume the story and lore. If you like Soul Calibur you will like this. One warning is that on theProbably the best Soul Calibur to play right now. On par with first and second. 2 good campaign modes. Art and audio harks back to old days of the series but modernized. Does a great job of retelling the Soul Calibur story from many different perspectives and is the most coherent way to consume the story and lore. If you like Soul Calibur you will like this. One warning is that on the regular Xbox One (not X) the load times are overly long and probably not worth getting for the platform until they fix it. I have it on the X and it looks and plays good and smooth. If you plan to get, skip the season pass and wait until that is on a sale and rest of the content is out for it. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2018
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised by the game’s story because I didn’t expect it to have as much depth as it did and I didn’t expect it to be as interesting as it was. The presentation side of the game is absolutely superb in my opinion and that’s mainly because both the visuals and sound design have plenty of style. In terms of content there’s a huge amount for you to get to grips with and theI was pleasantly surprised by the game’s story because I didn’t expect it to have as much depth as it did and I didn’t expect it to be as interesting as it was. The presentation side of the game is absolutely superb in my opinion and that’s mainly because both the visuals and sound design have plenty of style. In terms of content there’s a huge amount for you to get to grips with and the amount of characters available to you means the game has lots of replayability. Technically the game suffers with not many problems at all and I found that to be especially the case when I played the online components of the game. The gameplay is an incredible amount of fun and each different mechanic combines together almost flawlessly. Sometimes the difficulty spikes out of nowhere and this can cause you to experience a few frustrating moments every now and then. During your time with the game you will notice that the game doesn’t always reward skill. I will admit to you now that SoulCalibur is a series that I haven’t invested a great deal of time into and the main reason for that is because I didn’t think it was as good as other fighting game’s in the market. That being said I often found its story to be better than other fighting game’s and once again SoulCalibur VI delivers a fine story that will keep you invested throughout your time with the game. This isn’t the only thing that will keep you invested as well because it has an array of varied content that will no doubt keep you satisfied for many hours and you’ll be pleased to know that both the single player and online multiplayer offerings don’t suffer with many technical issues at all. This then means the gameplay stays fun and makes each different mechanic stand out and the only real frustration you get is when the difficulty curve spikes out of nowhere. Thankfully though I was easily able to look past this because the strategy side of the game still feels rewarding despite the difficulty. At the end of the day then for me SoulCalibur VI is without a doubt the most enjoyable game I’ve played in the series so far and if you’re a fan of fighting game’s then this title is a must buy. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2018
    9
    beseuteu geim
    nollaun kaeligteo keoseuteom
    daejeongyeogtu geim dabge tagyeoggam joh-eun geim
    daman aswiunge gagyeog-i bissangam-i eobsjianh-a iss-eum
  4. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Tekken 7 was very underrated, I don't even like Street Fighter or MvC, but I hope more people play Tekken 7, I love playing as King because it let's me play as a furry and we are very under represented in media.

    10/10
  5. Oct 24, 2018
    4
    Maybe Bandai Namco should stop making SoulCalibur games. SCVI does not compare with their other titles this year. It's light on options (no tutorial), and the options that are there are underwhelming. And that's probably the best way to describe it - underwhelming. If you stand it up next to the Tekken 7 or Dragonball FighterZ, you start to wonder why they even bothered. Even theMaybe Bandai Namco should stop making SoulCalibur games. SCVI does not compare with their other titles this year. It's light on options (no tutorial), and the options that are there are underwhelming. And that's probably the best way to describe it - underwhelming. If you stand it up next to the Tekken 7 or Dragonball FighterZ, you start to wonder why they even bothered. Even the fight announcer/narrator doesn't measure up.

    I still don't understand why Bandai Namco opened the pre-orders for this title a mere month before release (unheard of in this age), but it gives the impression that they had low expectations for it.
    Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2018
    6
    I've been a fan of Soul Calibur since the first game but I have to admit the series has been in decline since SCIV. SCIV is still the high water mark, and while SCV was a slight step down due to how they removed the equipment stats and nerfed the armor break feature, it was still very good and had excellent online play.

    But the series took a huge step backwards with this latest
    I've been a fan of Soul Calibur since the first game but I have to admit the series has been in decline since SCIV. SCIV is still the high water mark, and while SCV was a slight step down due to how they removed the equipment stats and nerfed the armor break feature, it was still very good and had excellent online play.

    But the series took a huge step backwards with this latest installment. It seems the creators are taking a "back to basics" approach and cut out a huge swath of characters, some of which have become staples to the roster (including my favorite, Cassandra). They made one character, Tira, available only as DLC upon launch which leads me to believe they're going to be milking the fanbase for cash to get the rest of the characters as DLC packs over the next few years.

    They've also stripped down the number of equipment customization options considerably. I'm guessing we'll have to wait to buy DLC packs to get the equipment variety options we've become accustomed to in past SC games. To be fair, even in SCIV and SCV they sold extra equipment as part of DLC packs. But SCIV and SCV had a lot more equipment options available at launch that didn't require the purchase of DLC. The least they could have done was provided equipment options for the characters they cut out of the game. It would have been nice to use Character Creation to make a Cassandra look-alike.

    Like SCIV and SCV all of the customize-able equipment except for undergarments is destructible in combat, which is reasonable since this isn't supposed to be an adult game (still with some people can come up with some pretty naughty designs if they're creative enough). But I do think it was a bad design choice to attach shoes to a lot of the undergarments. I also always thought it was a mistake to take the stat bonuses out of the equipment when they nerfed the feature in SCV. Equipment stats added an extra layer of strategy to character creation and penalties for having your armor broken in combat that actually added depth. Now the whole feature is simply decorative. I'm glad it's still there n some form because it's the only good fighting game that has this sort of feature, but it would be nice if they went back to like SCIV's more robust equipment feature.

    SCVI introduces a new "Libra" story mode that is similar to an RPG in some respects and is designed to help new players get used to the mechanics of the game, character creation feature, and different fighting styles. Your character travels the world going on adventures, earning experience and gold and even gaining party members as the story unfolds. Gold could be spent on weapons that change your fighting style or items that help you in combat, but only in Libra mode. Alternatively you could trade your gold in for RP points that can be spent on equipment that can be used outside Libra Mode. RP could spent to unlock equipment in Character Creation or Museum Mode features.

    Libra mode is unique to say the least and there are some aspects of it that are interesting, but it seems to play a bit more like an interactive novel with interspersed moments of 1 on 1 fighting game combat than an RPG. After about 30 mins I was bored with it. The story didn't hold my interest enough to keep me engaged and the time spent menu noodling between the short bouts of combat started to feel tedious. The Tower of Lost Souls from SCIV was a much simpler and better "quest mode" for a fighting game than this awkward "Libra" Mode. But again I give them props for trying something different. It might be a good idea with better presentation.

    The rest of the modes are the standard run of the mill fighting game fare that you see in most SC games. You have Arcade mode, Arcade story mode, Verses mode, Network verses mode, Character Creation, There's a museum gallery that gives you the stats and backstory on each character (and more if you spend the RP to unlock the extra features), and of course the xbox store where you can give Namco your hard earned cash to get the DLC that should have been in the game to begin with.

    As always the controls and fighting mechanics are top notch, and I did have a lot of fun playing online. The special moves are much easier to pull off. Maybe too easy, but I can't complain about that because I've always been a below average player when it comes to online rankings and like to have a low learning curve. This is a great fighting game for newbs to just pick up and play, but I'm sure there's enough for the dedicated to dig their teeth into and become really competitive with.

    So as a basic fighting game it gets a high rank, but I've come to expect much more from Soul Calibur so it loses a lot of points for that. 6/
    Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2018
    0
    This game is fun but the load times are atrocious Namco has no sense of pride in their products maybe it might get patched but they didn’t fix tekken 7 on Xbox one so I doubt they will fix this. Other unreal 4 fighting games load on par with their ps4 versions like injustice 2 for example. Maybe hold off for a sale or wait for a patch.
  8. Oct 22, 2018
    7
    Nový přírůstek do bojové série Soulcalibur trochu zaspal. V oblasti hratelnosti je mu to ke cti, protože si udržel hravou duši, která ho odlišovala od ostatních. Ve všem ostatním působí buď jako remake prvních dílů, nebo jako odbyté, a možná i trochu zbytečné, pokračování. Naštěstí pro titul, o hratelnost jde u bojovky na prvním místě, a tak je člověk ochotný ledacos odpustit.Nový přírůstek do bojové série Soulcalibur trochu zaspal. V oblasti hratelnosti je mu to ke cti, protože si udržel hravou duši, která ho odlišovala od ostatních. Ve všem ostatním působí buď jako remake prvních dílů, nebo jako odbyté, a možná i trochu zbytečné, pokračování. Naštěstí pro titul, o hratelnost jde u bojovky na prvním místě, a tak je člověk ochotný ledacos odpustit.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    90
    Soul Calibur is easily my favorite traditional style fighting game, and seeing it get back to form with a solid new entry in Soul Calibur VI warms my heart, and my thumbs. Bandai Namco has taken great strides in getting the franchise back on track, and it seems all they had to do was listen to its fans. Gone are the weird and increasingly questionable combat mechanics; instead what we have is a product that feels clean, inviting, and refreshingly fun.
  2. Oct 30, 2018
    80
    Soulcalibur 6 might not be quite as groundbreaking as past games, but it’s still a must-buy for fighting game enthusiasts or fans of the franchise.
  3. Oct 30, 2018
    80
    SoulCalibur is back! Even if it feels visually out-dated, and it is, SoulCalibur VI brings many new mechanics and game modes which make it the best entry in the serie since SoulCalibur III.