User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 358 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    This is may not play anything like the old games but is that such a bad thing? What you're getting here is a huge beautiful game world to explore on both land and sea set in the best setting: Ancient Greece. And you get to play exactly the way you want. Choice is the biggest addition here, allowing you choose dialogue options and make decisions that affect the story, choose your ownThis is may not play anything like the old games but is that such a bad thing? What you're getting here is a huge beautiful game world to explore on both land and sea set in the best setting: Ancient Greece. And you get to play exactly the way you want. Choice is the biggest addition here, allowing you choose dialogue options and make decisions that affect the story, choose your own playstyle; combat or stealth, you even get to choose to play as Alexios or Kassandra who have totally different personalities. I'm glad This franchise went full RPG because though it may be as good as the witcher, it comes pretty damn close.

    One of the games of the year. 10/10.
    Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2018
    7
    As a lover of Ancient Greece and Greek mythology, I loved the setting of AC:Odyssey from the get go.

    The GOOD The open world is so pretty :) And the dynamic weather makes the world really immersive. It does not bring anything truly ground breaking and new to the franchise true, being more an amalgam of game features from previous games, however in some cases existing mechanics are
    As a lover of Ancient Greece and Greek mythology, I loved the setting of AC:Odyssey from the get go.

    The GOOD

    The open world is so pretty :) And the dynamic weather makes the world really immersive.
    It does not bring anything truly ground breaking and new to the franchise true, being more an amalgam of game features from previous games, however in some cases existing mechanics are expanded like naval combat, abilities and inventory.
    I particularly like Kassandra of the two playable characters, because of her voice acting and her personality.

    The BAD

    On the negative side of things I've had a few glaring bugs, some funny, some just down right annoying and a crash or two, which is never cool :(

    The story doesn't really make sense, and I don't really like that you have to pause it just to get to the appropriate level to continue. It LITERALLY took me out of the story :/

    I don't like the idea of micro-transactions in games that are forced upon you because the game is deliberately being slow.

    The MEH

    I don't find the genre shift to RPG bothersome as I myself am a lover of RPG. True, the RPG elements such as dialogue choices don't make much sense lore-wise, but eh, I don't really care.

    I didn't care about the mercenary system, ended up spending a lot of my drachmae just to play without the obligatory mercenary tailing me.
    Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2018
    5
    Just an average ubisoft game. MEH . I expected more tbh.
    Average lengthy story i guess. Takes over 50 hours to beat. 5/10
    Openworld is gorgeous and massive but why the hell would they put in that big of a map? 7/10. Origin's Map was better Combat animations look kind of polished this time around . Plus there are tons of weapons at your disposal. 8/10 Sidequests are pretty similar to
    Just an average ubisoft game. MEH . I expected more tbh.
    Average lengthy story i guess. Takes over 50 hours to beat. 5/10
    Openworld is gorgeous and massive but why the hell would they put in that big of a map? 7/10. Origin's Map was better
    Combat animations look kind of polished this time around . Plus there are tons of weapons at your disposal. 8/10
    Sidequests are pretty similar to each other and the openworld is filled with these . Some of them actually tied into the main story , so thats a good thing. 6.5/10
    The micro transactions this time around are complete and utter horse raddish . Lemme tell you one thing , this game is grindy as hell! You actually come to a point , where you buy the stuff with real money just because you hate the grind.
    Overall game :5.5/10 .
    I gave origins a 6/10 but the mtx ruined this one for me
    But overall i think this is a better game than origins .
    At the same time its a worse "ASSASSIN"S CREED GAME" than origins
    Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2018
    9
    "Assassin's Creed: Odyssey" is a masterfully crafted game, whose only sin is retaining the title "Assassin's creed". The new combat mechanics, introduced in Origins, coupled with the newly added ability system provides much more dynamic and engaging encounters, somewhat reminiscent of those found in "The Witcher 3". The storytelling and exploration aspects of the game have also greatly"Assassin's Creed: Odyssey" is a masterfully crafted game, whose only sin is retaining the title "Assassin's creed". The new combat mechanics, introduced in Origins, coupled with the newly added ability system provides much more dynamic and engaging encounters, somewhat reminiscent of those found in "The Witcher 3". The storytelling and exploration aspects of the game have also greatly been improved upon, offering a much more tightly woven experience that held my interest all through the very end of the game (provided the conclusion to the story could be considered as such). Despite these technical advances however, it's impossible not to note the fact that the game has about as much to do with assassins as Star Wars has to do with medieval warfare. Though i highly enjoyed my playthrough I couldn't manage to shake the though that Ubisoft would have found much more success had they not attempted to "ride the wave" created by the already long list of entries to the long established series. As a stand alone game AC: Odyssey is a true jewel of video gaming. Just don't expect any templars or any other defining traits of the series. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Can honestly say i love this game so far. Have not had fun with an assassins creed game since Black Flag
  6. Oct 9, 2018
    10
    Great game, captures what made Origins good and moved forward with it. Has a fun and rewarding Naval combat system that made black flag what it was. Well written side quests and plenty of things to keep you busy.
  7. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    This is probably the most beautiful game i have ever played. setting is amazing and the story is interesting.
  8. Oct 26, 2018
    8
    The open world was beautifully constructed, the main story is awesome, but... The side quest missions are all the same. Near the end, the game became exhausting.
  9. Oct 2, 2018
    9
    Assassin’s Creed Odyssey je větší a propracovanější variací na Origins. Možná byste si řekli, že toho nepřináší mnoho nového, ale propracovanější RPG systém, bitvy, dialogy s následky, návrat mořského života a další novinky nám přijdou jako docela dost. Tak či onak, pořád je to stejně návyková záležitost. Jen po roce se nám tak do rukou opět dostává skvělé historické dobrodružství a zaseAssassin’s Creed Odyssey je větší a propracovanější variací na Origins. Možná byste si řekli, že toho nepřináší mnoho nového, ale propracovanější RPG systém, bitvy, dialogy s následky, návrat mořského života a další novinky nám přijdou jako docela dost. Tak či onak, pořád je to stejně návyková záležitost. Jen po roce se nám tak do rukou opět dostává skvělé historické dobrodružství a zase si jej můžeme vychutnat v parádní české lokalizaci. Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Reviewing on the Xbox One X.

    Assassin's Creed: Odyssey is one of my favorite games of all time (and I've been playing for 40 years - A Link to the Past, Twilight Princess, MGSV: The Phantom Pain, Breath of the Wild, and now Odyssey). As a fan of this style of game, I'm really kind of speechless in how Ubisoft was able to produce something like this. Usually, with these kinds of games,
    Reviewing on the Xbox One X.

    Assassin's Creed: Odyssey is one of my favorite games of all time (and I've been playing for 40 years - A Link to the Past, Twilight Princess, MGSV: The Phantom Pain, Breath of the Wild, and now Odyssey). As a fan of this style of game, I'm really kind of speechless in how Ubisoft was able to produce something like this. Usually, with these kinds of games, there's at least something that's not quite right - either the game starts off rough, or there's filler content, or the characters are bland or awful. There's always something. But Odyssey doesn't miss a single beat and I can't understand how Ubisoft was able to make something so engaging. At the moment I'm playing through with Kassandra, a total dream woman, so I guess the game got off on the right foot immediately with me. It's as if Ubisoft looked at everything that worked in Assassin's Creed: Origins, kept what worked, ditched what didn't, and then added ten tons of awesome. There's so much action and content in this game, I feel like I underpaid (I picked up the standard edition). On the Xbox One X, the game looks outstanding, controls like a dream, and I think it's the first title on the X that justifies the money I paid for it last year. The RPG dial has been turned up this time, Odysey has BioWare style RPG elements with dialogue choices and consequences for player actions - and they work amazing, it doesn't feel like they were just slapped in. I honestly don't know how much more I can say, it's a game that I'm not able to find anything to criticize (at least not yet. I've not played with Alexios). I can't stop playing. Ubisoft, I don't know how you did this, but stay the course and never change.
    Expand
  11. Oct 9, 2018
    3
    First of all the things I like about the game where the graphics, new dialogue options, the stealth was good and the Greece setting but unfortunately everything else about the game I hated, going from Origins to Odyssey felt like a huge downgrade in terms of combat, progression, the way the abilities worked, how the the map was and the new bounties was annoying. The game was also tooFirst of all the things I like about the game where the graphics, new dialogue options, the stealth was good and the Greece setting but unfortunately everything else about the game I hated, going from Origins to Odyssey felt like a huge downgrade in terms of combat, progression, the way the abilities worked, how the the map was and the new bounties was annoying. The game was also too grindy for me compared to Origins, I felt like the game was forcing me to be in combat which I dreaded being in combat. I actually couldn't bring myself to finish it, it was that painful for me to play. Overall I was really disappointed in the game. Expand
  12. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    장점
    1. 탐험모드를 통해 오픈월드를 여행하는 느낌을 받을 수 있음.
    2. 선택지를 통한 스토리 분기로 다회차 플레이에 재미를 느낄 수 있음
    3. 간편하고 더 자연스러워진 파쿠르

    단점
    1. 1080p, 2160p 둘다 30프레임 제한
    2. 점프가 없다
  13. Oct 6, 2018
    9
    The presentation side of the game is absolutely perfect and in my opinion both the visuals and sound design are the best the series has seen so far. Exploring Ancient Greece feels rewarding at all times and the attention to detail the world has makes things very immersive from start to finish. I really enjoyed the story because I felt more involved than I’ve ever done before in anThe presentation side of the game is absolutely perfect and in my opinion both the visuals and sound design are the best the series has seen so far. Exploring Ancient Greece feels rewarding at all times and the attention to detail the world has makes things very immersive from start to finish. I really enjoyed the story because I felt more involved than I’ve ever done before in an Assassin’s Creed game and I think that’s mainly because I was allowed to make my own choices. I’ve always really enjoyed the combat in Assassin’s Creed but for some reason I enjoyed the combat more here because it felt fluid and brutal at all times. In terms of content the game has more than enough to keep you satisfied and the variety the content has means things always stay fresh and interesting. The game suffers with a few technichal issues every now and then, but thankfully these are only slightly annoying instead of game-breaking. Sometimes there’s a bit of grinding required and this does make things become a little tedious. Last year the Assassin’s Creed series was injected with a new lease of life thanks to the fantastic Assassin’s Creed: Origins and I went into playing Odyssey with more excitement than I had with previous game’s because the franchise felt more exciting than it had in year’s. Thankfully once again they’ve delivered and in some ways they’ve improved over last year’s game which in my opinion culminates in making Odyssey one of the best game’s this fantastic franchise has delivered so far. I’ve always liked the visuals and sound design in these game’s but for me this is the best looking and sounding game so far. This then means exploring Ancient Greece always feels rewarding and you’ll no doubt be satisfied with the vast amount of varied content the game has. Obviously one of the most important aspects in this series is its combat and I’m pleased to say that they’ve pulled out all the stops here making it feel fluid and more brutal than ever. This then means that the game has got its important aspects spot on and in terms of problems the game doesn’t have many at all, and the problems it does have are very easy to look past. Recommending Odyssey is incredibly easy then and when it’s all said and done fans of Assassin’s Creed will fall in love with this game immediately because it’s basically perfection. Expand
  14. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    A good direction for Ubisoft. Huge world, an intriguing story and lots and lots of playtime.
  15. Oct 4, 2018
    4
    Assassin's Creed Odyssey is a passable-at-best game in its own right, and a rather disappointing Assassin's Creed game. The trademark elements of the series feel like an afterthought, and it seems like Ubisoft titled the game "Assassin's Creed" just to make it an easy sell. For instance, the villain deaths aren't as climactic, and the nuanced themes of the previous games are replaced withAssassin's Creed Odyssey is a passable-at-best game in its own right, and a rather disappointing Assassin's Creed game. The trademark elements of the series feel like an afterthought, and it seems like Ubisoft titled the game "Assassin's Creed" just to make it an easy sell. For instance, the villain deaths aren't as climactic, and the nuanced themes of the previous games are replaced with a generic good vs evil story where the characters have poorly defined motivations and personalities. In other words, Odyssey has the skeleton of an Assassin's Creed game, but none of its heart and brain.

    It generally looks good, as you'd expect, although it does have its fair of technical issues. The movement of the characters' lips don't always match with what they're saying, and the voice acting is mostly pretty flat and monotonous.

    Also, like it has been happening since the Desmond Miles saga ended, the present day storyline keeps coming up with a million subplots that don't seem to be going anywhere worthwhile.
    Expand
  16. Oct 7, 2018
    0
    has the same design than origins. ubisoft with assassin's creed and EA with FIFA are the kings of code reusability. Shame on both...
  17. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    Without doubt the best AC in the series. Even if it's very similar to Origins I can't understand the complaints. Many things feel like Origins but in better way and because of the trolls giving it zero I will contribute my point with a 10/10. Love the work and great job to all of you in the staff!
  18. Oct 8, 2018
    4
    Looks great on the on the x but it’s the typical open world Ubisoft trash, it’s just Origins with a few added new features, typical village peasant becomes almighty Assassin blah blah blah, devs and publishers must rub their hands together and laugh at the thought of just how gullible and easily tricked this generation of gamers are. From watchdogs 2 to far cry 5 to Origins, it’s just theLooks great on the on the x but it’s the typical open world Ubisoft trash, it’s just Origins with a few added new features, typical village peasant becomes almighty Assassin blah blah blah, devs and publishers must rub their hands together and laugh at the thought of just how gullible and easily tricked this generation of gamers are. From watchdogs 2 to far cry 5 to Origins, it’s just the same typical open world boring, shallow main story and side missions, with slow forced progression unless you want to break down the micro transaction pay wall. Oh and can’t forget the cringe worthy voice acting, speaking English with a pathetic Greek attempted accent. Expand
  19. Oct 7, 2018
    9
    Assassin's Creed: Odyssey cool and nice game. and smoos action. exsiting story
  20. Oct 10, 2018
    10
    Отличная игра, затягивает с первых минут , не думал что юбики смогут сделать такой шедевр, в последний раз только ведьмак, так сильно держал планку, денег своих стоит на все 100%. Я рад что юбисофт перевели АС к концепции ролевой игры, так ей больше идет как по мне.Отличная игра, затягивает с первых минут , не думал что юбики смогут сделать такой шедевр, в последний раз только ведьмак, так сильно держал планку, денег своих стоит на все 100%. Я рад что юбисофт перевели АС к концепции ролевой игры, так ей больше идет как по мне.
  21. Oct 10, 2018
    9
    A Genuine Fast Take of AC: Odyssey

    Every single person on this website that can rate this game below a 5 or 4 needs to review their score for Witcher 3 and reevaluate what the essence of a 'grind' is. All I have seen is moaning and complaining about how 'grindy' the game is when all open-world RPGs have some mild to moderate level of grind. Marking the addition to the series as a
    A Genuine Fast Take of AC: Odyssey

    Every single person on this website that can rate this game below a 5 or 4 needs to review their score for Witcher 3 and reevaluate what the essence of a 'grind' is. All I have seen is moaning and complaining about how 'grindy' the game is when all open-world RPGs have some mild to moderate level of grind.

    Marking the addition to the series as a negative based on money you can CHOOSE to spend or not spend is disingenuous and your review is worth goose-egg, as far as I am concerned.

    Moving on from this, I was immediately enraptured by the setting. The world is teeming with all of those curious ? marks that you can immediately explore. I wish that your eagle could physically reveal them for you during scan mode but no dice on that. Some weapon styles are superior to others and some fit into the kind of combat style you are looking for. I enjoy the low cost of the Engraving system that allows you to mix and match specific Engravings for abilities on differing pieces of gear. (Legendary set items scale once you get all the pieces, which is a huge plus for end-game.)

    There is some definite tedium; I enjoyed the way Origins had a quick dodge within combat where it is seemingly missing in Odyssey for a hold down dodge mechanic where the longer button press, the further you dodge. Not ideal but it's there. I miss the old one. Being able to respec abilities is another plus; very cool if you want to try something different in the talent trees.

    The choice of dialogue is better than sitting me through a cutscene and having me answer if I will accept a quest or not. I found myself skipping through Origins scenes incessantly whereas here, I want to see what my differing dialogue choices will net me and what sort of alternating changes that my demeanor will have on future quests, as little or big the ripple in the lake may be.

    Ship controls are rather...meticulous for this entry in the series but it can very well the button scheme that I needed to operate with in the manner in which I liked to play Origins; the mere fact it has the returning option is a plus, familiarity is nice in those outnumbered combat situations. But the water traversal itself is nothing short of gorgeous.

    My biggest complaint? Towns should be made to be fast traveled to. Major towns and cities on islands should have an option to be returned to with a button press. It was present in Origins and ripped from Odyssey for...what? Perhaps the Exploration Mode? I still feel it would round out the travel between points and having to rely on Viewpoints for your back and forth between the world.

    The game has received an 9 because there are things that irk me with it; it diminishes a point for making me yell at some of the minutia of complaints I have. But it also gets a 9 because I am having immense amounts of fun. And that is what matters.

    If you read this in full, I thank you and happy gaming.
    Expand
  22. Oct 5, 2018
    1
    Crap controls, intentionally slowed progression and the fix is trapped behind a paywall of 10 dollars. Don't buy this steaming pile of ****
  23. Oct 7, 2018
    9
    It's great, haven't played Origins, but in contrast to others here I really like what Assassin's Creed has become, I was definitely burned out of the old formula. If you like games like the Witcher 3, then you will like this. Lol at 0 etc scores.
  24. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    This is the best Assassin's Creed game in years.
    Ubisoft did a really great job.
  25. Oct 10, 2018
    2
    The developers of the Assassin's Creed series just keep putting more ways to exploit their customers by offering "Player Choice" to skip the grind. This game is as grindy if not MORE of a grind then the last one. They keep calling it "Player Choice" when it's basically saying the grind is purposely put in there to extend playtime. Listen, I played Castlevania: Symphony of the NightThe developers of the Assassin's Creed series just keep putting more ways to exploit their customers by offering "Player Choice" to skip the grind. This game is as grindy if not MORE of a grind then the last one. They keep calling it "Player Choice" when it's basically saying the grind is purposely put in there to extend playtime. Listen, I played Castlevania: Symphony of the Night exploring the entire castle, getting all the equipment, all the HP UP and MP UP with most of the Heart Max up. Getting to a level that only the programmers knew to get to where your HP hits the quadruple digits to me is probably the biggest sense of accomplishment that I got out of the game. Then they put in a grind with the sole purpose to get you to pay to not play the game that you already paid for and are trying to play, it actually defeats the purpose of progression in a video game.

    The 4K graphics look good, but that still doesn't make the game feel any less dumb from the previous game. Also, you might have noticed that a whole bunch of Ubisoft games are starting to have the same formula. Recycled fetch quests, recycled extra objectives and very rarely; a recycled character. People are right to keep getting disappointed by this **** and I hope somehow they actually get such angry feedback it upsets their investors. So, in conclusion; don't fall for obvious traps like this in games anymore. They apparently want to exploit you so they can get more money out of you. Oh wait, the gameplay? What do you want? It plays almost identically to the last 2 Assassin's Creed games.
    Expand
  26. Oct 9, 2018
    3
    Ah la Grèce antique, le berceau de la civilisation occidentale, de notre civilisation, de son mode de pensée, de sa culture même dont notre langue est encore aujourd'hui très influencée : le français quand il ne vient pas du latin, il vient du grec ! mais on pourrait longtemps se recueillir et s'épancher sur cette glorieuse nation qui a inventé la démocratie et tant de légendes et d'autresAh la Grèce antique, le berceau de la civilisation occidentale, de notre civilisation, de son mode de pensée, de sa culture même dont notre langue est encore aujourd'hui très influencée : le français quand il ne vient pas du latin, il vient du grec ! mais on pourrait longtemps se recueillir et s'épancher sur cette glorieuse nation qui a inventé la démocratie et tant de légendes et d'autres choses !...

    Le monde retranscrit par Ubisoft n'est certainement pas d'une grande précision historique mais restitue la grandeur de la nation antique à travers ses villes et ses paysages aussi stupéfiants que magnifiques. Et techniquement sur la X, ça envoit du bois ! c'est presque un sans-faute (certaines textures ne sont pas toujours à la hauteur mais c'est pour chipoter).

    Hélas, mille fois hélas ! ce monde immense est surtout et avant tout une gigantesque, une putain d'énorme machine, une saloperie d'usine à grinder... c'est-à-dire à limer les mêmes conneries jusqu'à l'intox et jusqu'à ce que l'ennui nous sépare... Le précédent en Egypte était déjà répétitif et rempli de merdes à n'en plus finir mais ici, c'est pire, bien pire !

    C'est un remplissage de tous les instants, des camps à nettoyer, partout, des maisons à nettoyer, des **** ou des grands campements, des grottes et toujours la même chose à faire : tue les "mini-boss", ouvre les coffres, brûle les ravitaillements etc, etc...

    L'infiltration est encore assez efficace mais fortement dégradée par le fait qu'on n'a la plupart du temps pas assez de puissance d'assassinat (!)... pour assassiner tranquillement. Comme dans les Assassin's Creed de jadis quand on se faufilait jusqu'à la cible... Ici, les niveaux dictent tout, y compris le farmage requis pour les atteindre : trop souvent, on ne peut même pas assassiner un ennemi du même niveau que le sien, car il a une icône jaune... il est "épique".

    Alors il faut se battre et tout finit en combat dans AC Odyssey... toujours, sans arrêt sur des ennemis qui sont des sac à points de vie et des éponges à coups d'épées, lames, haches, massues et tutti quanti. Non que le combat soit mauvais, bien au contraire, il est encore amélioré depuis l'Egypte et vraiment grisant mais au bout de pas loin de 30h à taper, ça commence à me casser les roubignoles.

    Jamais vu un jeu pareil où on fait toujours la même chose, c'est un truc de fous... Les quêtes secondaires semblent avoir gagné en qualité mais ce n'est qu'un feu de paille, car rapidement, on ne tombe que sur du fedex et l'invariable nettoyage. Dans quelques unes de ces quêtes, on peut même -grande nouveauté chez Ubisoft- mal se comporter... mais alors on a une meute de mercenaires au cul parce qu'on a été méchant... Oui quand Ubisoft se met au "jeu de rôle" (lol) ça donne ce genre de conneries.

    J'en ai buté des tas, des tas de mercenaires mais ils continuent de venir plus ou moins régulièrement et je ne vois pas la liste diminuer dans l'onglet ad hoc ou si peu... Oui, on peut payer les primes et rester tranquille mais combien vais-je devoir en buter ? parce que y en a jusqu'au niveau 50 (!). Même qu'ils débarquent jusqu'à deux ou trois quand t'es en train de nettoyer un camp, on hallucine...

    Bon, on peut jouer une héroïne et ça, c'est très bien. Elle est spartiate, c'est très bien aussi. Mais pourquoi elle ressemble à une nageuse de l'ex-RDA ? un pharmacie ambulante la gonzesse. La grâce d'un tank, le charisme d'une brute.

    Et puis, et puis... tout de même, pourquoi tous ces gens de couleur dans ce jeu ? on est en Grèce ou en Egypte ? est-ce qu'on confond chez Ubisoft le teint hâlé avec la peau noire des Africains ou celle notablement foncée des Pakistanais ? alors, si le prochain AC se passe chez les Vikings ou les Samouraïs, on aura la diversité incorporée de force également ? je comprend l'agenda SJW d'Ubisoft mais merde quoi...

    Et la gamine qui nous suit partout, qui suit notre mercenaire qui ressemble à un mec (on dirait une petite Indienne cette pisseuse, côté Sri-Lanka) est-ce qu'elle va nous faire chier pendant tout le jeu ? parce que je croyais lui avoir dit dans un dialogue de rentrer à la maison !

    Bon, donc voilà : Ubisoft tente de singer un certain Witcher 3 mais le fait d'une façon désastreuse : ils n'ont aucune compétence pour raconter la moindre histoire sans la noyer sous des tonnes de farmage abominable. D'ailleurs, pour améliorer les armes ou le bateau, il faut farmer à mort plusieurs ressources différentes : c'est un truc de fous, vous dis-je...

    Alors je mets 3 quand même, car l'interface, la maniabilité, la technique sont au sommet mais tout le reste franchement... j'espère que vous n'appelez pas "ça" un jeu de rôle ! un MMO solo tout au plus (va me cueillir des fleurs et reviens, steuplé) dont on ne voit ni la fin ni l'utilité. Sinon que ça donne envie de rejouer à Witcher 3 !!
    Expand
  27. Oct 5, 2018
    2
    The Game itself looks amazing and the Story is ok (nothing Crazy but ok so far) BUT this game has a price of 60$ or 120$ and they implemented a micotransaction System into the game AND made the game SO GRINDY that u have to pay to progress in a reasonable speed. Shame on u greedy E.. oh sry i mean Shame on u Ubisoft ffs!
  28. Oct 5, 2018
    0
    hot garbage, $60 for something that looks like its meant for my phone. deserves as much effort of a review as the devs put into making the game fun.
  29. Oct 16, 2018
    3
    First - Beautiful scenery (as usual for UBISOFT). Problem is, that’s about it. Ubisoft have missed the AC mark with this one. Many of the classic AC things are missing: the hidden blades, becoming anonymous in crowds or on benches, no quick, attack from behind assassinations. No hiding in hay wagons (there aren’t any) or in leap of faith leaf/flower piles. By the way, Ubisoft, what’s theFirst - Beautiful scenery (as usual for UBISOFT). Problem is, that’s about it. Ubisoft have missed the AC mark with this one. Many of the classic AC things are missing: the hidden blades, becoming anonymous in crowds or on benches, no quick, attack from behind assassinations. No hiding in hay wagons (there aren’t any) or in leap of faith leaf/flower piles. By the way, Ubisoft, what’s the point of leap of faith soft landing areas, anyway? You put in a perk (Ability) that lets you jump off anything without getting hurt. Bows are pretty much useless in Odyssey - even on easy mode, it sometimes takes 10-15 fully-charged HEADSHOTS to take an enemy out. So don’t bother getting ther “special arrow” perks - they have no more power than the “standard” arrows you are supplied with at the start of the game. Also, what’s the point of leveling up in this version? You start out on an island with a very low level, but as you level up, the lower-level areas level up automatically so that the fight level is always the same. Finally, there is no real story in this AC release. It takes place in the era of the Peloponnesian War - a war that Athens lost; so why does this game not follow history and have the game’s protagonist aid Sparta in defeating Athens instead of leaving history up to the player? Are we teaching revisionist history here? If you are supposed to choose a side (Athens or Sparta), why are you allowed to attack both factions? Then there’s the “Cult”. Huh? Is this an attempt to put a bunch of bad guys in the game (as if there weren’t enough already: Commanders, Captains, Elite Soldiers, Hi-powered mercenaries, area Faction Leaders and Mythical Beasts). Life is complex enough without a game mimicking the same uncertainty. So we are left with a game where you go from area to area endlessly killing commanders, looting and finding clues to puzzle locations that send you off on more searches. But, when conditions are right (that is; you’ve killed & looted enough in one area, you get to take sides & fight in a battle royale. Many areas have lootable items stuck inside rocks, so they show up when using the finder pulse, but you can’t get to them. I’ve also seen more than one animal or human enemy stuck inside rock, too. In short, Ubisoft has created a beautiful, huge game that lacks two small things: a story line & decent fight physics. The game ends up feeling unfinished and poorly thought out - it feels like just a Ubisoft vehicle to let people run around and thoughtlessly kill things. No sense of a unified group fighting for a cause, just a lone wolf ruffian running around causing havoc. I’ve played every AC game in the series at least once and this one is a sad reflection of the others. Hopefully, Ubisoft will do better with the next one. Expand
  30. Oct 8, 2018
    10
    By far my favorite entry in the series. Origins was a huge improvement in gameplay mechanics but Odyssey's inclusion of dialogue options and choice of gender makes it feel like a true RPG. If they continue down this path, every AC game will be a must play for me.
  31. Oct 7, 2018
    0
    One of the worst ubi games i've played thus far. Odyssey is to Origins, what Rogue is to black flag. Just some after wank-spank with a $60 price tag. Instead of improving on the good mechanics, they've tweaked it, and it's complete ass. The games voice acting is terrible, and ubisoft still doesnt know how to properly make a human-head. The only thing that looked alright were the friggin'One of the worst ubi games i've played thus far. Odyssey is to Origins, what Rogue is to black flag. Just some after wank-spank with a $60 price tag. Instead of improving on the good mechanics, they've tweaked it, and it's complete ass. The games voice acting is terrible, and ubisoft still doesnt know how to properly make a human-head. The only thing that looked alright were the friggin' waves breaking against the shores. This game is garbage and i cannot fathom how people are positive about this.. it truly baffles me. If this is the current standard for open world games, then i'm pretty sure the world isnt ready for Red Dead Redemption 2. Expand
  32. Oct 17, 2018
    7
    It has it's moments, it's a beautiful looking game, and it improves upon what Origins began, but it is a HARD grind at times. There are times where the game will stop being fun and just feel like work. The story is interesting, but the Ubisoft has long since foregone weaving engaging narratives. All in all, it's not a bad game, but like Black Flag, it's not an Assassin's Creed game, andIt has it's moments, it's a beautiful looking game, and it improves upon what Origins began, but it is a HARD grind at times. There are times where the game will stop being fun and just feel like work. The story is interesting, but the Ubisoft has long since foregone weaving engaging narratives. All in all, it's not a bad game, but like Black Flag, it's not an Assassin's Creed game, and it's RPG elements and grindy gameplay may turn many off. Expand
  33. Oct 10, 2018
    4
    Underwhelming story, grindy gameplay and terrible plot. Though the world and gameplay are fine these things pull it back from it being anywhere near great
  34. Oct 3, 2018
    9
    Although this game has some improvement from AC: Origins even if it's not as many as i like but it is expected since this game is develop at the same time as AC: Origins so it is expected to have some similarity in gameplay and other elements to each other.

    The added story branching option and the diolog option is a great addition to the Assassin’s Creed Francise since this could make
    Although this game has some improvement from AC: Origins even if it's not as many as i like but it is expected since this game is develop at the same time as AC: Origins so it is expected to have some similarity in gameplay and other elements to each other.

    The added story branching option and the diolog option is a great addition to the Assassin’s Creed Francise since this could make me as player be more involve in the story and the character. Some player might find the giant open world is a not so fitting setting to set an Assassin’s Creed story since it can make the player to be seperated from the story from the sheer ammount of time that the world exploration will take to do. The RPG element is good since it is develop together with AC: Origins. The multiple ending is also a good addition because it make the choice that the player have to be more important than normal story branching element.

    The reason i did not give this game a full 10/10 is because althought the modern day story line is connected to the Assassin's Creed Lore the actual animus part of story element althought interesting it is not connected enough even if the is some connection to the Assassin's Creed Lore as a whole.

    Overall the experience of playing this new type of Assassin’s Creed is depend on each player but since i’m a fan of both exploration and Assassin’s Creed francise in general so i can make a good judgment that this game is very good for those who already love the Assassin’s Creed Francise and for those who love exploration and branching story element.

    Since this is not a true RPG some RPG player might not like it so much and for those who like linear story line more this game also might not be for you.
    Expand
  35. Oct 3, 2018
    0
    this is not assassin creed game , i want real assassin creed game, this is the witcher 3 game style.
  36. Oct 9, 2018
    9
    50+ hours in and I LOVE this game. So far I' haven't seen this"grind wall", some people are talking about. Look, the game is indeed huge and it does take a very long time to beat. I get that its length might be a turn off to some. For me personally, it's definitely worth my time and money. I've read complaints about the micro transactions and how Ubisoft "forces" players to spend real50+ hours in and I LOVE this game. So far I' haven't seen this"grind wall", some people are talking about. Look, the game is indeed huge and it does take a very long time to beat. I get that its length might be a turn off to some. For me personally, it's definitely worth my time and money. I've read complaints about the micro transactions and how Ubisoft "forces" players to spend real money on boosters. I've not spent a single extra dollar on micro transactions so far and I certainly do not feel as if I have to buy any of the xp/gold time-saver boosters in order to fully experience the game. The in-game micro transactions store doesn't offer anything apart from cosmetic items and time-savers, such as: maps that reveal special hidden chests/items (which without paying, the players have to find on their own, while exploring the gigantic open world) and XP/Gold boosters which do cut the time you need to spend actually playing the game you purchased... I sure don't feel as if I'm grinding - completing quests, exploring tombs, caves, underwater shipwrecks, temples and also fighting ship battles for resources is great fun. There's so much to do and the majority of the quests are not boring. All of them are fully voice acted. There are many different progression systems and customization options in the game. AC Odyssey slowly opens up, so if you play only the first 20 hours you would miss on so many new things.//The story is quite good and I was kinda amazed by how Ubisoft manged to explain lore-wise how at the very beginning the player has the option to choose between a male and female character. I still have to finish AC Odyssey and I probably have another 50 hours left.

    If you haven't tried the game, then I highly recommend it. It's definitely worth the 60 $
    Expand
  37. Oct 25, 2018
    6
    It looks like Assassin's Creed. It sort of plays like Assassin's Creed. The RPG elements drag down the fun factor significantly. I have seen glimpses of AC elements; Sync points, references to Those Who Came Before (though now referred to as Isu which is annoying), a cult that on the surface may be the beginnings of the Templars, twisted versions of historical figures, and minimal modernIt looks like Assassin's Creed. It sort of plays like Assassin's Creed. The RPG elements drag down the fun factor significantly. I have seen glimpses of AC elements; Sync points, references to Those Who Came Before (though now referred to as Isu which is annoying), a cult that on the surface may be the beginnings of the Templars, twisted versions of historical figures, and minimal modern day story (so far anyway). Kassandra is a decent main character but there is no hidden blade. Plus because the last game indicates the beginning of the Assassin Order there can be none of that so much earlier in history. Upgrading weapons and armor is a complete pain in the ass. It is a total grind. The skill tree is not horrible but some "abilities" are not worth giving up a token for. The combat is improved, but that happened largely in Origins. Ship warfare is back. So my impression after about 48 hours into gameplay is that a lot of this is rehash combining Black Flag with Origins. This is almost as repetitive as the first game. So many stealth "rooms" of camps or forts where the objectives are repeatedly "Kill the Captain, Kill the Polemunch, Find Treasure, Find (special piece)..." So repetitive. Fetch this, free this character. If it were a Star Wars game there would certainly be Protect/Destroy the Shield Generator missions all over it. The map is huge and the world is beautiful. It doesn't totally suck as many of the problems with earlier games in the series have been fine tuned. I haven't run up the wrong building or a tree the way characters would in earlier AC games, but the repetition is at an all time high. There are more classic AC elements than in Black Flag, but that isn't saying much. This game is a bit of a backslide when compared to Origins, but this used to be an Action Adventure series that is being morphed into an RPG and I really didn't sign up for that. Perhaps cranking one out every year needs to be rethought to keep things fresh and cutting edge. Like I said I'm 48 hours into this game and I am maybe a third of the way through the main story. I intend to finish but another highly anticipated game comes out this week that will take precedent over this because that will truly the most cutting edge game released this year and probably for the next few. You all know what I am talking about. ;) Expand
  38. Oct 20, 2018
    8
    I don't know if I've ever played a game so desperate not to be apart of the series it's named after. You can call this Witcher 3-lite as the inspiration from that game is almost unapologetic-ally the same game but set in the greek world. The story starts out great but peters of toward the end, including the extremely odd decision to make a massively important part to the main, overallI don't know if I've ever played a game so desperate not to be apart of the series it's named after. You can call this Witcher 3-lite as the inspiration from that game is almost unapologetic-ally the same game but set in the greek world. The story starts out great but peters of toward the end, including the extremely odd decision to make a massively important part to the main, overall story, a bloody side quest half way through the game. It makes absolutely no sense at all to me, especially for a series that desperately needs to find a way to bring the modern day elements that the series has been known for, and is the main plot point that is similar amongst all of the games, to a better spot. There are a ton of good things to go with this game, especially for anyone who played Witcher 3. Mostly because the good things from that game translate over here. The world is absolutely huge and there's tons to do with the Cultists side quest to the Mercenaries stuff here. And I enjoyed the combat system, which has improved upon the Origins massive changes to the series. It's a shame that all of the best stuff at the end of the game requires massive grinding because the main story won't get you to the point where you need to be at for, arguably, the more important things that come after the lackluster ending to that. AC really has developed an identity crisis with these last two games. Especially with this one as there's almost nothing here that relates back to the previous games. With the announcement that there won't be a game in '19 and the next installment will come in 2020, Ubisoft has alot of decisions to make regarding the future of the series. If they continue going down the route they have been with the previous installments, they need to make decisions on how to continue with the series, especially with the modern day elements of the series and whether to even keep them in the game. I'd say that it's time to get rid of it and focus entirely on each games individual setting and how that fits into the overall world. I don't know if I'd recommend this to series veterans looking for a return to form after the big change that Origins was. This game is almost geared more for the series newcomers who don't know much about the long history of the games. Expand
  39. Oct 14, 2018
    8
    Grafika: TBA
    Stylizace: TBA
    Příběh: TBA
    Lore: TBA
    Výprava: TBA
    Imerze: TBA
    Chytlavost: TBA
    Komplexnost: TBA
    Dopamin: TBA
    ----------------
    Multiplayer: TBA
    LAN: TBA
    Znovuhratelnost: TBA
    Délka hry: TBA
    Datum dohrání: N/A
    Stav dohrání: N/A
  40. Oct 26, 2018
    9
    Смотрю я такой на отзывы. Вижу 0. НОЛЬ БЛИН? Это адекватные люди разве? Игра определенно хорошая. Единственная очень большая претензия - это не Assassin's creed. Не жалейте, переименуйте серию, тогда не будет столько негатива. Делайте AC про ассасинов, а данную игру назовите просто Odyssey. Потому что тут нет современности (те 5 минут, что есть, я не считаю), верните ассасинов, стелс.Смотрю я такой на отзывы. Вижу 0. НОЛЬ БЛИН? Это адекватные люди разве? Игра определенно хорошая. Единственная очень большая претензия - это не Assassin's creed. Не жалейте, переименуйте серию, тогда не будет столько негатива. Делайте AC про ассасинов, а данную игру назовите просто Odyssey. Потому что тут нет современности (те 5 минут, что есть, я не считаю), верните ассасинов, стелс. Чтобы я мог пройти задание скрытно, а не проткнуть мужика закутанного в солому копьем насквозь, а он такой "чего блин? мне пофиг". Вспомните Unity, там было замечательно стелсить. Враги были опасные и свирепые, но умирали от смертельных ударов. Верните современность, Дезмонда, Лейлу, Юнону. Уберите магию и лазерные мечи. Тогда будет AC. И люди ее полюбят. А RPG переименуйте в что-нибудь. Не бойтесь новых тайтлов. Ubisoft, у вас все получится! Хотя я знаю, что никто из Убисофт не прочтет это, и вы запилите все равно новую игру для ньюфагов без связи с ассасинами... И это печально. Но игра заслуживвает 9/10 Expand
  41. Oct 14, 2018
    8
    I have not yet beat this game - However I do recommend it.
    At first i was hesitant to buy the game as I thought "Oh, it's just a reskin of Origins" however I was wrong, the game is much more improved on Origins features and the gameplay feels more alive.
    I like how you have the choice between 2 characters & to be guided or to explore and discover the world around you. The weapons are,
    I have not yet beat this game - However I do recommend it.
    At first i was hesitant to buy the game as I thought "Oh, it's just a reskin of Origins" however I was wrong, the game is much more improved on Origins features and the gameplay feels more alive.

    I like how you have the choice between 2 characters & to be guided or to explore and discover the world around you. The weapons are, for me at least, hard to work with as I have to keep going back and forth between weaponry to deal the most amount of damage.

    The game can be hard at times, even on easy, just because you have got some weapons and the way that the WARRIOR, ASSASSIN & HUNTER damage is managed is not properly explained. Just because a piece of armour protects you better does not mean it is the best for your character.
    The armour does not match some times and you have a sword that may do 80 damage and one that does 75 damage, but the 75 damage is the one that is better. Some of it makes less sense but the gameplay is good once that issue is looked past.

    Overall I'd say the game is worth paying for, even if you didn't really like Origins which I didn't. The setting is also abit more lively than AC:Origins.
    Expand
  42. Oct 9, 2018
    10
    i love the game not sure what these morons are whineing about the game is amazing the graphics, combat, characters everything is such an upgrade from origns in my view i guess some peoplw will never be happy.
  43. Oct 18, 2018
    10
    Controls extremely well, and an absolutely gorgeous game. The setting really just pulls you in. You really feel like you're a Spartan or Athenian or whatever. I like the new rpg-like system. I personally don't think this game should be called Assassin's Creed, but it doesn't change the fact that it's an amazing game.
  44. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When they showed the game at E3 I was disappointed and I was thinking that this game will suck. But HOLY **** I was wrong. That game is awesome, I agree that its one of the best in the series, but for me its not better than Origins. The world and the characters are amazing, Sometimes I was having a problems with the animation, but there are bugs and glitches in every game. The story wasn't bad, the grinding system is a bit stupid, but I think Ubisoft will repair it. The armor and weaponary system is great, currently im with the Demigod set with The Wolf's Helmet. I think this game should be nominated for GOTY. Ubisoft did a great job with this game Expand
  45. Oct 27, 2018
    9
    An incredible game, a really good RPG, but I think it's losing some of its essence.
  46. Oct 28, 2018
    9
    “Assassin’s Creed Odyssey” is a terrific addition to the franchise. It breathes new life into a franchise that had become quite stale.

    It is more RPG than Action/Adventure. Your ending is based on decisions that you have made. You choose how to allot skill points and how to play the game: stealth, hunter, warrior, or a combination. Choose your weapons and your armour. Upgrade your ship
    “Assassin’s Creed Odyssey” is a terrific addition to the franchise. It breathes new life into a franchise that had become quite stale.

    It is more RPG than Action/Adventure. Your ending is based on decisions that you have made. You choose how to allot skill points and how to play the game: stealth, hunter, warrior, or a combination. Choose your weapons and your armour. Upgrade your ship as you see fit. Grind if you want, or don’t if you’d rather not. It is up to you. Choose your quests. Choose your protagonist.

    In my 180 hour (thus far) playthrough as Kassandra with a heavy stealth build, I’ve laughed, rolled my eyes, wondered what brilliant mind comes up with some of these things, and I’ve even cried (once). I’ve regretted some of my decisions and been pleased with others.

    As a prequel to the story of the Assassins and the Templars, there is quite a bit of tantalizing information to explore with regards to the Isu/First Civ and Pieces of Eden. The modern day component of the story, while brief, is very compelling.

    This is the best game that I’ve played since “The Witcher 3.” I’m taking a full point off of what I would otherwise consider a 10/10 game for the forced enemy level scaling. We should be able to choose to turn it off, if we’re so inclined.
    Expand
  47. Oct 28, 2018
    8
    I really enjoyed Origins. It was the first AC game in a while that felt worth playing. Odyssey, whilst not being overly innovative, continues the success. The game looks incredible, offering a greater variety in scenery and cities that is truly impressive. The narrative improves upon Origins, with Odyssey being a fitting title to the sweeping adventure that takes place. It has easily someI really enjoyed Origins. It was the first AC game in a while that felt worth playing. Odyssey, whilst not being overly innovative, continues the success. The game looks incredible, offering a greater variety in scenery and cities that is truly impressive. The narrative improves upon Origins, with Odyssey being a fitting title to the sweeping adventure that takes place. It has easily some of the most memorable characters in the series, and the dialogue options fit seamlessly into the experience. The bounty mechanic and cult system offer long term goals that never feel overbearing. Playing on exploration mode makes for a much more dynamic and engaging play through. These are just some of the positives.

    On the other hand, the Hunter/Warrior/Assassin RPG element don't work very well, as its never really possible to stick to one of these play styles. The combat is almost unavoidable, and it can often takes an age to kill enemies if you are unable to instantly assassinate or headshot (with necessary ability). Quest variety and enemy variety still lacking also. There is also way too much legendary loot to find, unless your look to customise your ship/horse, where there is very little.

    Even so, (bored of writing this), the game is continues to improve on the series, and i am hopeful that future instalments can get closer to the standard set, for open world RPGs, by other developers.
    Expand
  48. Nov 7, 2018
    8
    Fun game, beautiful game......Dont listen to all the dick heads because they know nothing, i have been playing computer games since the ZX81 in 1984 so i know, these mugs who give it a real low score do not know.....So an 8 out of 10 from me.....Remember, people like me who are 42 years old have to deal with idiotic little millennials who dont realize how lucky they are.
  49. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    This game's graphics are gorgeous, and the combat system is a blast! The story is quite good as well, but where this game really shines is player freedom. You can truly play however you want, and forge your own "Odyssey" to go on. Will you be a noble warrior, a cruel assassin, a conflicted hunter, or just a bloody pirate? You can enjoy this game in so many ways, from ransacking forts toThis game's graphics are gorgeous, and the combat system is a blast! The story is quite good as well, but where this game really shines is player freedom. You can truly play however you want, and forge your own "Odyssey" to go on. Will you be a noble warrior, a cruel assassin, a conflicted hunter, or just a bloody pirate? You can enjoy this game in so many ways, from ransacking forts to snapping awesome photos to blazing through the open world on your trusty steed. It is truly refreshing! Expand
  50. Nov 13, 2018
    10
    This is my XBox One game of the year!

    I honestly thought that title would go to RDR2 but that game is actually a small disappointment. Let's start by saying that the graphics here are absolutely stunning. The World, here ancient Greece, is absolutely breathtaking and of a massive scale. By far the best I have seen so far, rivaling with the Witcher 3's expansive world (without The
    This is my XBox One game of the year!

    I honestly thought that title would go to RDR2 but that game is actually a small disappointment.

    Let's start by saying that the graphics here are absolutely stunning. The World, here ancient Greece, is absolutely breathtaking and of a massive scale. By far the best I have seen so far, rivaling with the Witcher 3's expansive world (without The Witcher's expansions of course).

    Then there's combat, surprisingly fun and visceral. Controls are the opposite of the clunkyness of RDR2. They feel natural, aiming with a bow is awesome (and doesn't stop after 2 seconds...really Rockstar?)

    The Naval game is extremely fun and adds a lot to the game, as mercenaries and Cultists do.

    This game would be absolutely perfect had the writing been better. Way too many uninspired fetch quests tarnish the main campaign, which is, in itself, quite ok if not excellent, and create unnecessary feel of repetition.

    ABSOLUTELY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!
    Expand
  51. Oct 18, 2018
    7
    It is a game filled with supreme visuals that beholds your curiosity to venture out in the medieval world. The game does well on the combat part but the problems are repetitive side missions and missions like where you need to hand a thing from one person to another instead of involving some puzzles. It has some decent RPG elements.
  52. Nov 7, 2018
    10
    GRAPHICS: 2/2
    Ubisoft didn’t just make a few cities in Greece for their game. They made ALL OF IT. And it feels like they did, too. Everywhere you go there are gorgeous busts and statues, temples, altars, and residences that are all fully realized.
    STORY: 2/2 Four main storylines. Every location story has its own stuff going on. I was on an island where I helped a young child make
    GRAPHICS: 2/2
    Ubisoft didn’t just make a few cities in Greece for their game. They made ALL OF IT. And it feels like they did, too. Everywhere you go there are gorgeous busts and statues, temples, altars, and residences that are all fully realized.

    STORY: 2/2
    Four main storylines. Every location story has its own stuff going on. I was on an island where I helped a young child make some friends while also meddling in “The Bachelor: Greece Edition”.

    AUDIO: 2/2
    On a regular basis, around twice or more per hour, when you talk to an NPC, you or the character will interrupt each other mid-sentence and say lines on top of each other. It’s annoying. [...] But that's hardly a complaint.

    GAMEPLAY: 2/2
    There are many on the internet who say this game has become too action oriented. Sure, the formula has been changed, but it’s been heading this way for a while now. The fact is, you can still play this game stealthy if you want to.

    FUN: 2/2
    I am willing to forgive [the microtransaction for EXP & money] because it was on me to make that choice in the end. I could have bucked up and cleared out every single icon on the map to take the game nice and slow. But, be that as it may, I cannot stop playing this game.
    Expand
  53. Nov 1, 2018
    9
    Great story, amazing world. Varied missions and the faction system is great. A few graphical hitches that will be sorted in a future update. If you like origins you love this
  54. Nov 3, 2018
    8
    Starting with performance, on the Xbox One S the game runs smoothly with occasional drops in frame rate, which aren't the end of the world. I have had the game crash on me a couple of times, once resetting my progress by half an hour which was annoying. Moving on to core game play, combat is fun while requiring a bit of learning to fully get the hang of it. Sailing, while sometimes tediousStarting with performance, on the Xbox One S the game runs smoothly with occasional drops in frame rate, which aren't the end of the world. I have had the game crash on me a couple of times, once resetting my progress by half an hour which was annoying. Moving on to core game play, combat is fun while requiring a bit of learning to fully get the hang of it. Sailing, while sometimes tedious can be fun once your ship is upgraded, but luckily is used sparingly throughout the story. The story itself isn't incredible, but still interesting enough to keep me interested and involved. And the voice acting, while on average good, can get to points of being downright horrible, but these moments are few and far between. The two protagonists you can choose from, Alexios and Kassandra, both have the same story, but it seems Kassandra is better acted than Alexios, from the two playthroughs I have made. The gear system is an improvement over that of Origins, giving you full control on how you want t build your character, along with the skill trees. The trees are also much simpler compared to Origins, but only allows you to have so many skills at one time. So while Origins was more complex, you would make more use of all of the skills in that game unlike Odyssey. The world that the game sets you in, Ancient Greece in 431 BC is very in depth and fully realized maintaining a historical accuracy. In conclusion, the game is fun and enjoyable with the introduction of complete RPG options and makes it one of my favorite games of the year. Expand
  55. Nov 7, 2018
    8
    This game was good, but not great. I love the RPG assassins creed games. If they stuck to the original format, they would have killed the series. I like ancient Greece and all, but it's not interesting to explore at all. Nothing is very interesting to discover unlike Ancient Egypt, where there were plenty of cool things to find. I liked the abilities and weapons. The story is nice, not oneThis game was good, but not great. I love the RPG assassins creed games. If they stuck to the original format, they would have killed the series. I like ancient Greece and all, but it's not interesting to explore at all. Nothing is very interesting to discover unlike Ancient Egypt, where there were plenty of cool things to find. I liked the abilities and weapons. The story is nice, not one that will leave an impact, but a few tears were shed. I heavily disliked the mercenary system. I would find myself with a bounty and be attacked when I'm trying to do something. Very annoying. However, the best thing about the game is the choices you make and the free content coming. I also think the DLC will be good, considering origins. Expand
  56. Nov 11, 2018
    10
    It's bigger and better than Origins in pretty much every way except imo the location isn't as nice but the graphics are far more polished. It looks incredible in 4k on the X and the story while far from perfect is still ok. It's probably an 8.5.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Nov 5, 2018
    85
    It was yet another good game from Ubisoft and I always like to be an Assassin again. I look forward to seeing if the next Assassin’s Creed game will be just as big as Odyssey, although not too big please.
  2. 80
    Assassin’s Creed Odyssey is plenty of fun, and it’s a solid turnaround for the franchise. The future of the franchise is bright.
  3. 85
    Odyssey puts player freedom front and centre in a way the games never have before, while also taking in perhaps the most fun and gorgeous location we've seen so far.