Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
Buy On
  1. Oct 15, 2018
    100
    If you love the Assassin’s Creed games then this is one of the best, even though it’s not a million miles away from the stunning Origins.
  2. Oct 11, 2018
    99
    If anything, Assassin’s Creed Odyssey showcases Ubisoft’s commitment to strengthen the franchise and keep it relevant. Not only does Odyssey successfully expand and build on the systems and foundations that made last year’s entry so compelling, but it also relays more character, depth and world engagement throughout. Make no mistake about it, this is the finest entry in the series so far.
  3. Oct 13, 2018
    92
    Even with a few hiccups, Odyssey is one of the best Assassin’s Creed games to date. It allows you to play it nearly however you want, doesn’t intrude too often with the ‘real world’ segments (even though I quite enjoy that aspect), and it is simply a better product overall than previous entries.
  4. Oct 1, 2018
    92
    Assassin's Creed Odyssey follows the natural evolution of the new trilogy by polishing some of its playable mechanics and providing a powerful narrative with one of the best plots in the series. The new combat system with the multiple use of skills and the new character progression where every decision counts, embraces the path of the role games and gives it its own identity in a world as massive as it is dynamic.
  5. Oct 1, 2018
    92
    Assassin's Creed Odyssey's open-world adventure through ancient Greece is a gorgeous thrill, and the best the series has ever been.
  6. Oct 1, 2018
    91
    It is densely layered in a brilliant way and will keep you pushing through, without pulling you away from the large amount of activities this playspace offers.
  7. Oct 5, 2018
    90
    Assassin's Creed Odyssey is an ambitious game that takes a huge leap in the right direction for the series by building on the solid foundations laid by last year's Origins. The world is stunning, the combat feels better than it has in any other game in the series, and the inclusion of choices both big and small impacts the world and creates a much deeper narrative experience. There are still some rough spots then need addressing in future titles, and some of the new additions don't work as well as they should, but Odyssey sets a new bar for what an Assassin's Creed game can be.
  8. 90
    If you have the time and patience, Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey is worth a look, if not for the meandering plot and lore, than for the history porn, the earnest humor, and the massive, mystery-filled world.
  9. Oct 1, 2018
    90
    It’s nearly impossible to summarize a game this big, or this complete. Assassin’s Creed Odyssey lives up to its Homeric namesake in scope and scale, adding fantastic new elements to the solid foundation Origins laid before it. For me, it’s easily the best Assassin’s Creed game to date, and I can’t wait to keep playing it long after the credits roll.
  10. Oct 1, 2018
    90
    If you liked Origins, you'll love Odyssey even though its novelties do not end up having the importance that they should.
  11. Oct 1, 2018
    90
    Assassin’s Creed Odyssey is far more than juste a simple evolution of Origins. Severals storylines, more side quests and a more systemic approach of its narration make it a very different game. And a very surprising one.
  12. 90
    A case of refinement rather than dramatic change, Assassin's Creed Odyssey nonetheless injects even more depth and detail into the series, with dialogue choices and the ensuing consequences that follow proving a worthwhile addition. If you enjoyed Origins, Assassin's Creed Odyssey will scratch the same itch, and then some. A sensational sequel that's thankfully not a Greek tragedy.
  13. Oct 1, 2018
    90
    Alexios is one of the most memorable protagonists in all of Assassin's Creed, even if I never once actually thought of him as an assassin. In a lesser game, he'd probably be forgettable. But Assassin's Creed Odyssey is superb in nearly every aspect. It's the most impressive Assassin's Creed, even though sometimes it feels like it's Assassin's Creed in name only. It's as broad as Atlas' shoulders and as strong as Hercules. This time, Ubisoft hit a real Homer.
  14. Oct 1, 2018
    90
    Assassin’s Creed Odyssey isn’t just one of the best Assassin’s Creed games there has ever been, it’s one of the most exceptional action RPGs that I’ve played this console generation.
  15. 90
    Assassin's Creed Odyssey gives the very best modern open-world RPGs a run for their money when it comes to the sheer amount of content and level of quality found across the board.
  16. 90
    Assassin’s Creed Odyssey successfully builds upon the already strong foundation that Origins set to provide yet another Assassin’s Creed experience that still feels fresh and, more importantly, fun to explore and dive into. Even better, it does all this without the typical bloat you’d expect, although Conquest Battles do feel like a missed opportunity. Despite this minor letdown, Odyssey eclipses Origins in practically every way, and is easily the best Assassin’s Creed yet.
  17. Oct 3, 2018
    88
    Assassin’s Creed Odyssey comes close to be the best title of the series to date, with a much-improved narrative design, an interesting main storyline and an overhauled gameplay inherited from last year’s Assassin’s Creed Origins.
  18. Oct 1, 2018
    88
    It is a game with an immense map in which there are a thousand things to do. The main character represents the glory in classical Greece while we fight Spartans and Athenians alike. Some problems with the camera and popping do not make the experience negative.
  19. Oct 1, 2018
    88
    This is the kind of game where you could wipe out days of time paying attention to one piece of the greater story, with the true joy coming when you get to take a step back and see the story you've built.
  20. Nov 5, 2018
    85
    It was yet another good game from Ubisoft and I always like to be an Assassin again. I look forward to seeing if the next Assassin’s Creed game will be just as big as Odyssey, although not too big please.
  21. 85
    Odyssey puts player freedom front and centre in a way the games never have before, while also taking in perhaps the most fun and gorgeous location we've seen so far.
  22. Oct 1, 2018
    85
    Assassin’s Creed long journey apparently comes to an end in Greece, where Ubisoft Quebec upgrades the standards they presented with Origins; a turning point that made Odyssey the best Assassin’s Creed title of this generation.
  23. Oct 1, 2018
    85
    Assassin’s Creed Odyssey lives up to its namesake. By fully investing in becoming an action RPG, Odyssey’s characters, combat, story, and scope are beyond anything the series has accomplished so far. Its ambitions might get the better of it sometimes, like in how it divides its story moments or in how the leveling system can get out of hand, but the overall experience is, simply put, epic. Even when the game’s pacing hits a speed bump, there are plenty of engaging and rewarding side quests and distractions to keep you busy.
  24. Oct 4, 2018
    84
    The scale of Odyssey is epic - on almost every level. Ubisoft shows a new quality in storytelling that surpasses Biowares latest efforts. Mechanically though this is rather an Origins 2.0 with some of the old shortcomings still all too visible. Having said that, this is the best Assassin’s Creed since Revelations.
  25. Oct 1, 2018
    84
    Assassin's Creed: Odyssey builds on everything good Origins introduced, but with a bit lower quality stories and adding some new systems that end up being not so impressive. Overall, though, it's still a very solid open world game with lots of content and some very gorgeous visuals. It won't amaze you as Origins did, but it'll still provide tens of hours of quality play.
  26. Oct 1, 2018
    82
    Odyssey is fun and beautiful, but instead of trying to offer something new and fresh, it follows last entry’s steps way too closely. It’s a good, enjoyable game, but can also be quite boring sometimes since it choses to give player quantity over quality.
  27. 80
    Assassin’s Creed Odyssey is plenty of fun, and it’s a solid turnaround for the franchise. The future of the franchise is bright.
  28. Oct 16, 2018
    80
    Assassin’s Creed Odyssey is a game that is worth its price tag and so much more. It will take gamers months to finish all it has to offer. Pick up the season pass and likely have dozens of more hours to play. It is a massive game and something that feels like a swan song before another two-year hiatus for the series. I feel like they threw too much into the mix this time though. I could literally wonder around for 1-2 hours and do absolutely nothing, while I could also spend two hours just navigating through menus to upgrade and plan. There is a lot here, so for those that love the new direction of Assassin’s Creed, this is the game you need to buy this holiday season.
  29. Oct 12, 2018
    80
    The writing is sharp and the action fun, but it is the stunning re-creation of another world that is this game’s crown jewel.
  30. Oct 9, 2018
    80
    There is fat on Odyssey. Fat that could be trimmed and not mar the experience one jot. We’re pleased we took our time to write this review. The first four drafts didn’t do the game justice. Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey is too visionary a title, too fun, too memory making, for these flaws – irritating, exhausting, not game breaking – to negate us recommending it to you. It’s one of 2018’s best games. One of the decades finest. You will soak up the game like the characters within it absorb the Mediterranean sun.
  31. Oct 1, 2018
    80
    There is just a slight sense of scrappiness to an otherwise gorgeously crafted world. Which has historically come with the territory in Assassin’s Creed, to be frank, so to see one of this scope wobble here and there is not necessarily a surprise...At its best, though, Assassin’s Creed Odyssey is the finest the series has ever been, building on the role-playing roots laid down by Origins. An occasionally scruffy triumph of historical world-building, play and, perhaps most importantly, Grecian character.
  32. Oct 1, 2018
    80
    If you enjoyed Assassin's Creed IV's naval combat and Assassin Creed Origins' shift to an RPG-like progression system, Odyssey is a match made in Elysium. Odyssey does not revolutionize the franchise, but it's a capable entry that will satisfy fans for dozens and dozens of hours.
  33. Oct 1, 2018
    80
    Odyssey makes great strides in its massive and dynamic world, and it's a joy to venture out and leave your mark on its ever-changing setting.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 357 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    This is may not play anything like the old games but is that such a bad thing? What you're getting here is a huge beautiful game world toThis is may not play anything like the old games but is that such a bad thing? What you're getting here is a huge beautiful game world to explore on both land and sea set in the best setting: Ancient Greece. And you get to play exactly the way you want. Choice is the biggest addition here, allowing you choose dialogue options and make decisions that affect the story, choose your own playstyle; combat or stealth, you even get to choose to play as Alexios or Kassandra who have totally different personalities. I'm glad This franchise went full RPG because though it may be as good as the witcher, it comes pretty damn close.

    One of the games of the year. 10/10.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 6, 2018
    5
    Just an average ubisoft game. MEH . I expected more tbh.
    Average lengthy story i guess. Takes over 50 hours to beat. 5/10
    Openworld is
    Just an average ubisoft game. MEH . I expected more tbh.
    Average lengthy story i guess. Takes over 50 hours to beat. 5/10
    Openworld is gorgeous and massive but why the hell would they put in that big of a map? 7/10. Origin's Map was better
    Combat animations look kind of polished this time around . Plus there are tons of weapons at your disposal. 8/10
    Sidequests are pretty similar to each other and the openworld is filled with these . Some of them actually tied into the main story , so thats a good thing. 6.5/10
    The micro transactions this time around are complete and utter horse raddish . Lemme tell you one thing , this game is grindy as hell! You actually come to a point , where you buy the stuff with real money just because you hate the grind.
    Overall game :5.5/10 .
    I gave origins a 6/10 but the mtx ruined this one for me
    But overall i think this is a better game than origins .
    At the same time its a worse "ASSASSIN"S CREED GAME" than origins
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2018
    3
    First of all the things I like about the game where the graphics, new dialogue options, the stealth was good and the Greece setting butFirst of all the things I like about the game where the graphics, new dialogue options, the stealth was good and the Greece setting but unfortunately everything else about the game I hated, going from Origins to Odyssey felt like a huge downgrade in terms of combat, progression, the way the abilities worked, how the the map was and the new bounties was annoying. The game was also too grindy for me compared to Origins, I felt like the game was forcing me to be in combat which I dreaded being in combat. I actually couldn't bring myself to finish it, it was that painful for me to play. Overall I was really disappointed in the game. Full Review »