User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 83
  2. Negative: 22 out of 83
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    Tetris finally became art
    It may not have a direct online multiplayer or local, but it compensates on music, visuals and apresentation
  2. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    No review can sum up the magic of this game. Even if you arent a puzzle game fan, try it. You wont regret it.
  3. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Best version of Tetris ever created and an amaxing experience in VR akin to thumper and REZ infinite. You enter a zen state that is almost opiate like. Everything is top notch aside from the high price but I don't regret a single cent, it's just so damn addicting, chill and at times heart pumping. If you like Tetris or liked REZ/Thumper this is a must buy if you don't mind the price.
  4. Nov 11, 2018
    10
    When I played the demo briefly I thought it was a good gimmick but would not keep me entertained. I was wrong. This is a worthy successor to Tetris. It's actually Tetris like it should be in 2018. The weird part is that it feels and plays like Tetris but you experience it as a totally different game.

    The visuals are weird but great and accompanied by a very good soundtrack with matching
    When I played the demo briefly I thought it was a good gimmick but would not keep me entertained. I was wrong. This is a worthy successor to Tetris. It's actually Tetris like it should be in 2018. The weird part is that it feels and plays like Tetris but you experience it as a totally different game.

    The visuals are weird but great and accompanied by a very good soundtrack with matching sound effects make this game worth buying. The presentation is very inviting and clean. This is what I would call an AAA puzzler!

    The only thing I have to warn you about: It's very addictive
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Tetris Effect has exceeded my already high expectations of being not only one of the best PSVR titles to release but also the best virtual reality experience ever. The addictive gameplay mixed with eye-watering visuals and music creates a gaming experience that will haunt me in my dreams for many nights to come. After all, the game is named after the strangest phenomena in entertainment.
  6. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Awesome game! beautiful music and visual effects! a piece of art very recommended, a local or online multiplayer would be very good to play with friends, Excellent job in this game
  7. Nov 9, 2018
    7
    This game has some awesome effects. It is one of the best PSVR experiences. I also like the playlists and how they are set by mood. But it has no multiplayer, not even local. $40 is bit too much, and I expect multiplayer at that price.
  8. Nov 11, 2018
    3
    It's a shiny Tetris game. 4K and HDR, or VR do not make Tetris "more fun". The dynamic soundtrack and visuals don't add much either. I think they missed a huge opportunity to re-release Teterisphere, especially in VR. A much overlooked entry in the vast # of Tetris games, this game would have looked great with new visuals/music/gameplay. They could've added a Tetris game with the package.It's a shiny Tetris game. 4K and HDR, or VR do not make Tetris "more fun". The dynamic soundtrack and visuals don't add much either. I think they missed a huge opportunity to re-release Teterisphere, especially in VR. A much overlooked entry in the vast # of Tetris games, this game would have looked great with new visuals/music/gameplay. They could've added a Tetris game with the package. However, for the price tag, Tetris Effect is a no go. Expand
  9. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    This is one of the best if not the best version of tetris to date, if you love gameplay you need to get it, but is not only about gameplay it's a completely a new experience a burst of music and light, having PSVR makes it a must buy.
  10. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    ....................... TETRIS ist a perfect game. ........................
  11. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    This game is the best Tetris game you will ever find. Stunning visuals, perfect music/sounds.

    This is a must-buy for everyone that likes Tetris.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Nov 12, 2018
    85
    Overall, it’s tough to describe Tetris Effect as anything other than what it is – a great game of Tetris with a bunch of cool modes and filtered through the same stylistic lens as Lumines and Rez. It looks awesome in VR too, though the lack of greater online functionality is unfortunate. Still, it turns out that the Effect of playing Tetris is simply having a damned good time.
  2. Nov 12, 2018
    95
    For all its glorious visuals, endless modes, and virtual reality additions, the game of Tetris needs not more than a set of reliable input methods to snatch a dozen hours from right before your eyes. Tetris Effect is a confident, yet elegant, take on the simplest game in the world and a sheer masterclass of game design, at that.
  3. Nov 12, 2018
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.