User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 316

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales is a perfect game. If you are done with it, then try Gwent: The Witcher Card Game.
  2. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    This game is just awesome. The story is amazing with interesting and engrossing characters and the gameplay is fun and surprisingly innovative. It has a lot of twists and makes you think. I just love how story and card gameplay create this epic tale in your head. Very refreshing design. Oh and the voice acting, sound and music are top notch. Im 10 hours in and can't stop playing :)
  3. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Thronebreaker, once an expansion for Gwent has grown into so much more. The implementation of story specific Gwent mechanics has surprising depth to them. The cell shaded visuals bring out a certain charm very reminiscent of Telltale. I've quickly grew to love Meve as a protagonist as she is not your average elegant queen who always fights for good. Some of the choices presented make herThronebreaker, once an expansion for Gwent has grown into so much more. The implementation of story specific Gwent mechanics has surprising depth to them. The cell shaded visuals bring out a certain charm very reminiscent of Telltale. I've quickly grew to love Meve as a protagonist as she is not your average elegant queen who always fights for good. Some of the choices presented make her out to be an extremely morally grey character, very fitting for the Witcher world. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    This game is an absolute blast. CDPR done it again. If you told me that a card game would be one of the best games of 2018, I probably would have laughed you off. However, I'm very pleasantly surprised.
  5. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    This is a perfect bonus to Gwent: Homecoming. Excellent story and more expansive than most games double its price. Can't wait for the next one but probably should as quality takes time and this game sure does reflect it.
  6. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Amazing voice acting. Top notch animation. However, the absolutely gorgeous artstyle, captivating story and genius game design is what makes Thronebreaker a cut above the rest. IMO more big companies should also start investing in more indie-like titles like CDPR did with this game.
  7. Oct 28, 2018
    8
    As a person who bought the game just because it's from the witcher series,I must say I am enjoying it rather well even though it is a card game which i don't usually play whatsoever. From the graphics down to the game play mechanics and story telling, It is superbly made. I especially like the moral choices which actually enhances the game play more since walking around collecting items isAs a person who bought the game just because it's from the witcher series,I must say I am enjoying it rather well even though it is a card game which i don't usually play whatsoever. From the graphics down to the game play mechanics and story telling, It is superbly made. I especially like the moral choices which actually enhances the game play more since walking around collecting items is what you will be doing most of the time. But, the game is far off from perfect. I do have some nitpicks that really disrupts the pacing of my game for the first half of my playtime. Some might agree with me on this one

    It's the puzzles.Oh god,the puzzles. Im not gonner go in dept about it of it but basically to me it's just trial and error. You keep doing over and over again until you find the right solution and it can be repetitive at times. Finding the solution took me more time than it should for me to advance the game even though the puzzles are optional. I felt like they should have placed it in the middle of the game instead at the end of the tutorial since most players like me are still trying to figure out how the game mechanics works and a unfortunate soul like me stumble into one right after I've finish tutorial. I can't lie but there are some puzzles that are fun and kept me captivated.

    Overall, it is a solid game made from CD Project and a great time waster if you have extra hours on your hands. The price I would say is just right with the additional 4k graphics pack( which is free btw) and oh, just remember that this game is a little different from the gwent you used to play in the Wither 3 The Wild Hunt. To me, it's just gwent with extra 'steps'
    Expand
  8. Nov 6, 2018
    6
    Pros: Some puzzles are interesting and offering real fun. Early story plot. Letters that appearing in game makeing story more interesting.
    Cons: No need to adjust the deck (except final battle). You can play anything on hardest level. Lots dialogues you want to skip without reading, especially later in game. Story is linear, your choices doesnt affect the story. It is only about what card
    Pros: Some puzzles are interesting and offering real fun. Early story plot. Letters that appearing in game makeing story more interesting.
    Cons: No need to adjust the deck (except final battle). You can play anything on hardest level. Lots dialogues you want to skip without reading, especially later in game. Story is linear, your choices doesnt affect the story. It is only about what card you keep in deck and what card will "leave" you, and summary narration at the end of game. Many invisible walls makeing game "longer". You don't need to worry about resources, you ending game with zillions of gold. (hardest level). Dont have to craft like 70% of cards, you will win anyway. Camp improvements are mostly meaningless (army limit you dont need to rise, cards you dont need to craft). You will win anyway.
    Expand
  9. Nov 7, 2018
    9
    Very good, addictive game, made me play cards for the first time in my life :)
  10. Oct 24, 2018
    9
    I wouldn't say it's better than witcher 3, but it's great rpg, 9/10.
    If you don't like the card battle system you should still buy it for the story, quests and lore.
  11. Nov 1, 2018
    5
    Game is quite slow and boring. Very easy as well. I finished in couple of days. Only time I had to adjust my deck was for the final battle. The puzzles are quite good and only nice thing about the game. The story is painfully linear and I found myself skipping some dialogues as they add nothing to the game.
    Very average game, I was expecting much more.
  12. Oct 24, 2018
    10
    I have been a Gwent player roughly since the start of open beta and I have seen the game change for the better and for worse. I got Thronebreaker as soon as it came out, because it seemed like the new Gwent with some extras, hoping for some relaxing single-player games and puzzles.

    Little did I know Thronebreaker is only partially about Gwent. Narration and story-telling blew me out -
    I have been a Gwent player roughly since the start of open beta and I have seen the game change for the better and for worse. I got Thronebreaker as soon as it came out, because it seemed like the new Gwent with some extras, hoping for some relaxing single-player games and puzzles.

    Little did I know Thronebreaker is only partially about Gwent. Narration and story-telling blew me out - it is flat out superb. Finely written story is accompanied by beautiful 2D animated scenes and, most notably, fully voiced. Yes, all of the characters, even the narrator. Every mundane banter, every cutscene. And it is not just any voice-over: quality, variety and acting are what you would expect from AAA titles, not a little spin-off game.

    Speaking about little... it is not. I remember those single-player campaigns from Hearthstone that were similarly priced. I was of course expecting more from CDProjekt, but they still managed to surprise me positively. The game offers you more gameplay than majority of blockbusters. Don't get me wrong - many games offer 50+ hours of gameplay by forcing you to repeat certain portions of the game, or by filling it with mindless, repetitive activities and FEDEX quests. It's not the case. Here we are speaking about story-driven gameplay with Gwent puzzles and battles here and there.

    I have seen some complaints about the difficulty level. I believe for experienced Gwent players that may be valid - although for most of us difficulty would seem about right. I still found myself struggling a little bit with some of the puzzles, but even on the highest difficulty standard battles do not pose a great challenge for anybody that is well accommodated with Gwent.

    This is a game that I can with clear consciousness recommend to anybody. It has a lot to offer for fans of puzzles, visual novels, card games, RPGs, and Witcher universe. If you're a fan of any of the above, you'll have a great time. If you're a fan of all of the above, JUST GET IT!
    Expand
  13. Oct 27, 2018
    8
    In many ways Thronebreaker feels like a 2008 flash game but made by a company that can afford to put a million or two into development. I love it!
    It's a simple concept well executed, with enough card variety to keep me engaged for 30 hours, and a great story on top of that. It's a bit on the easy side but that doesn't really matter; I had a great time. I mean, it's more gwent, what's not
    In many ways Thronebreaker feels like a 2008 flash game but made by a company that can afford to put a million or two into development. I love it!
    It's a simple concept well executed, with enough card variety to keep me engaged for 30 hours, and a great story on top of that. It's a bit on the easy side but that doesn't really matter; I had a great time. I mean, it's more gwent, what's not to like?
    Expand
  14. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Great game so far, best card game I played and story far better than in most RPGs these days :)
  15. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Amazing mix of Rpg, storytelling and card game. New and fresh. Good job cd projekt red.
  16. Oct 24, 2018
    10
    Super pretty game! The story is something that takes and keeps you in this universe. Dialogues are interesting and funny here and there. Character voices are great.
    Nice to change the language and here the characters talking in Japanese, Turkish and so on :)
    Battles are levels appropriate and make you think how to solve the puzzles.
    Would recommend the Thronebraker experience!
  17. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Thonebreaker is awesome. Totally hooked. Way better than expected. Psyched for Cyberpunk!
  18. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Was worried about card battles, but as soon as I started playing all I wanted to do is to play another battle and another one and maybe just another one... Great Job CDPR
  19. Oct 24, 2018
    10
    Excellent game about tough choices and card plays :-) The best part of it is story and "puzzle" card game. Battle card game may be too easy, even in a hard mode, but for me it's not a problem. "Puzzle" card games are challenging enough.
  20. TIZ
    Oct 23, 2018
    10
    I would rate Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales actually a 9/10, but after reading the 1 score reviews I decided to give it a 10/10 just to cancel out some of the, in my opinion, poor reviews. The card game is fun, especially the card puzzles and interesting mechanics they offer. The resource collection and camp building mechanic is also an aspect that keeps the game more interesting then itI would rate Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales actually a 9/10, but after reading the 1 score reviews I decided to give it a 10/10 just to cancel out some of the, in my opinion, poor reviews. The card game is fun, especially the card puzzles and interesting mechanics they offer. The resource collection and camp building mechanic is also an aspect that keeps the game more interesting then it ought to be. Finding new characters is a super fun part of the story including of course "Witchers", who do show up in this game. I bought this game mainly for the story aspect and less for the actual game-play. The storytelling and the characters are really great! The voice acting is amazing (in English at least). But having said that, I do enjoy the game-play more than I thought I would. Great game overall and if you are in it for the story, I highly recommend it. If you are in it purely for game-play I would say stick to Gwent: Online. Expand
  21. Oct 28, 2018
    6
    i don't know. i've finished the first map and fought a few battles on the second one. so far, the story is linear, predictable and unimpressive, dialog choices don't seem to make a difference. fights are easy (on normal) and you can replay them anyway without any penalty. exploring the map to collect loot gets boring and tedious. basically, you walk around a map, encounter map markers thati don't know. i've finished the first map and fought a few battles on the second one. so far, the story is linear, predictable and unimpressive, dialog choices don't seem to make a difference. fights are easy (on normal) and you can replay them anyway without any penalty. exploring the map to collect loot gets boring and tedious. basically, you walk around a map, encounter map markers that either trigger a dialogue or a card game. you click through the dialogue or beat the card game (most of the time it doesn't really require much thinking) and you're back to the map looking for another marker. maybe the story will get better in time but i don't really feel like checking that out... Expand
  22. Oct 24, 2018
    10
    I missed the Witcher world and now it's back in great artwork and quality. I hope there will be another Witcher Tales coming soon.
  23. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    I'm not really into card games as what you usually do is just stare for hours at a cards getting flipped over and over again.
    Thronebreaker adds story, dialogue choices and, a map and a "character" you can move around that map... I almost wish it was a party based RPG and not a freaking card game.
    I love every single minute of it. What a lot of people seem to forget is that this game
    I'm not really into card games as what you usually do is just stare for hours at a cards getting flipped over and over again.
    Thronebreaker adds story, dialogue choices and, a map and a "character" you can move around that map... I almost wish it was a party based RPG and not a freaking card game.
    I love every single minute of it.

    What a lot of people seem to forget is that this game is not a full AAA game and never was intended as such, doesn't cost as much as AAA game...
    Expand
  24. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    This game eats your time like logvinov deshman uglevodu.
    Very interesting, atmospheric and cruel journey, where you need to turn your brain on to procced.
    Cant stop playing it. Great game from the masters once again
  25. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    Phenomenal game. It's obvious CDPR are fans of the Heroes of Might and Magic series (the entries prior to Ubisoft destroying the franchise). If you love HOMM, I think you will love Thronebreaker. Top-down exploration on a map with resources, buildings to upgrade in your camp, quests, treasure to uncover via maps, all meshing together with a fantastic art style, great music and voicePhenomenal game. It's obvious CDPR are fans of the Heroes of Might and Magic series (the entries prior to Ubisoft destroying the franchise). If you love HOMM, I think you will love Thronebreaker. Top-down exploration on a map with resources, buildings to upgrade in your camp, quests, treasure to uncover via maps, all meshing together with a fantastic art style, great music and voice acting, and story. I will be ecstatic if CDPR allocates a team to continue developing games in this iteration for the future. Expand
  26. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    After 3 hours girfriend yelling COME TO BED!!....yes coming....
    i will walk just a little futher and grab that wood pile....hmm that peasant seems to be in trouble let me walk up to her.....whats that?! a chest let me me grab it quickly... YES I'M COMING HUN pfff...... 6 hours later........ow what thats hun? you woke up to go to work ;-)
  27. Oct 24, 2018
    10
    What a great effort! The game is truly a 9.5 outta 10, but giving it a 10 to combat a few other troll negative score (which is quite sad tbh). Anyway, it's great because,

    1) Beautifully drawn 2d overworld 2) The story... it starts off a bit slow, but gets so much better 3) Sheer variation among the areas to keep the exploration interesting 4) Puzzles are actually pretty fun.
    What a great effort! The game is truly a 9.5 outta 10, but giving it a 10 to combat a few other troll negative score (which is quite sad tbh). Anyway, it's great because,

    1) Beautifully drawn 2d overworld

    2) The story... it starts off a bit slow, but gets so much better

    3) Sheer variation among the areas to keep the exploration interesting

    4) Puzzles are actually pretty fun. It's not very easy to design self explanatory well made puzzles, but cdpr seems to nail it.

    5) Incredible card art and animation

    The regular gwent battles are a bit easy even on the highest difficulty though (a reason of primarily being 9.5/10) and the game seems to need another layer of difficulty. I hope CDPR will add it soon, they are well known for their post release support.
    Expand
  28. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    Thronebreaker it looks really interesting.
    The writing is exceptional, characters are amazing and there are a lot of side quests with interesting twists to them. Every battle feels unique and different. And the atmosphere is so thick it just engulfs you. The cards are also... wait, what? It’s a card game? Wtf...
    Game. Is. Fantastic!!!
  29. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Great game.. great story... and great idea how to show Witcher world...
    For Gwent masters could be too easy
  30. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    So good game! I spent around 50 hours there! We want to get more story about Witcher! Thx CD Project RED FOR THIS !!!!
  31. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Well, to be honest before i bought it i thought that its going to be a mediocre card game (mostly because for me, Gwent outside of the Witcher 3 was mediocre), but one of my friends told me that if i love the Witcher world (which i do) then i should at least give it a try. I did and i have to say i heavily underestimated this game.

    I absolutely love the storytelling and the story
    Well, to be honest before i bought it i thought that its going to be a mediocre card game (mostly because for me, Gwent outside of the Witcher 3 was mediocre), but one of my friends told me that if i love the Witcher world (which i do) then i should at least give it a try. I did and i have to say i heavily underestimated this game.

    I absolutely love the storytelling and the story itself, the voice actors did an amazing job, but all of these should've been expected after the Witcher 3 and of course the rpg elements. I love games where i can make decisions that has consequences. After these things, the only thing i was worried about is the card game itself, because as i said, the online Gwent is not really among my favourites (not a big fan of online card games in general because of how much money we have to spend on it to be able to play on equal grounds with others at this point), but in this environment, Gwent works even better than it did in Witcher 3.

    10/10 game for me. All i can say is what my friend said to me: If you love the world of the Witcher series
    and card games then give it a try.
    Expand
  32. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    The game is fantastic!
    One may say that it is just a single player mod for Gwent, but it is actually way more than this. The game has an exceedingly good plot (probably it is the best plot I have seen for a couple of years), interesting characters and the general style is beautiful and neat. The battles are card-baser (more precisely, Gwent-based) and they are diverse and interesting (and
    The game is fantastic!
    One may say that it is just a single player mod for Gwent, but it is actually way more than this. The game has an exceedingly good plot (probably it is the best plot I have seen for a couple of years), interesting characters and the general style is beautiful and neat. The battles are card-baser (more precisely, Gwent-based) and they are diverse and interesting (and there is a rather good tutorial).
    Expand
  33. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    its great...amazing graphic...amazing gameplay...amazing meve..amazing all...
  34. Oct 31, 2018
    9
    if you love the witcher universe and well crafted story. you ll love this game.

    Pro: -impactfull choice -voice acting -animation -story -puzzle con: -a bit too easy (even in the higher difficulty ) frequently win in 2 rounds with 250 to 0 on second round on normal battle. -looting and skipping on the run dialogue on the same key bind (missed some short dialogue like that :( )
    if you love the witcher universe and well crafted story. you ll love this game.

    Pro:
    -impactfull choice
    -voice acting
    -animation
    -story
    -puzzle

    con:
    -a bit too easy (even in the higher difficulty ) frequently win in 2 rounds with 250 to 0 on second round on normal battle.
    -looting and skipping on the run dialogue on the same key bind (missed some short dialogue like that :( )

    overall another excelent game for cd red.
    Expand
  35. Nov 3, 2018
    8
    Very nice story line, it is so interesting. But game play not so. Recommend, because story is really good.
  36. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Я очень являюсь большим фанатом всего что связано с Ведьмаком, и рад тому что CDPR развивают свою франшизу, для начало стоит обратить кто здесь главный герой, Королева Мэва, на протяжение всей игры мы наблюдать за её становление от королевы которая потеряла всё до освободителя своего же края. Считаю что это идеальная игра и заслуженно получает 10/10Я очень являюсь большим фанатом всего что связано с Ведьмаком, и рад тому что CDPR развивают свою франшизу, для начало стоит обратить кто здесь главный герой, Королева Мэва, на протяжение всей игры мы наблюдать за её становление от королевы которая потеряла всё до освободителя своего же края. Считаю что это идеальная игра и заслуженно получает 10/10
  37. Nov 7, 2018
    8
    Amazing illustrations and art style, great story, amazing writing, superb voice acting.

    6/10 card game. The core game play is just not good enough and drags the game down. It's not magic the gathering, it's not even a hearthstone. Puzzles go from easy to very easy, and "normal" battles are easier still. Didn't play gwent before in my life, selected highest difficulty, did not
    Amazing illustrations and art style, great story, amazing writing, superb voice acting.

    6/10 card game. The core game play is just not good enough and drags the game down. It's not magic the gathering, it's not even a hearthstone.

    Puzzles go from easy to very easy, and "normal" battles are easier still. Didn't play gwent before in my life, selected highest difficulty, did not struggle at all.

    But i still greatly enjoyed the adventure and story. So 8 out of 10 young dwarves mercilessly murdered in captivity approves. :)
    Expand
  38. Nov 8, 2018
    9
    This is an excellent game, as I've come to expect from CD Project Red!

    My first play was nearly 40 hours, quite a bit more than expected. The game shines in all of the most important aspects: excellent writing, music, voice acting, story and gameplay. It is clever and detailed throughout. You are rewarded for exploring the world. Like the Witcher 3, I was surprised at how many
    This is an excellent game, as I've come to expect from CD Project Red!

    My first play was nearly 40 hours, quite a bit more than expected. The game shines in all of the most important aspects: excellent writing, music, voice acting, story and gameplay. It is clever and detailed throughout. You are rewarded for exploring the world. Like the Witcher 3, I was surprised at how many well-crafted funny and moving moments that the narrative was packed with. The new Gwent mechanics create plenty of strategic options, and the interface is beautiful.

    So, why not a solid 10? Mostly because of balancing issues. I am a Gwent buff, so I started playing on the highest difficulty. Unfortunately, by the third Chapter--after only crafting a handful of cards, and even losing some of my strongest cards due to story events--my deck was unstoppable. I can imagine a less-experienced player having a few more growing pains, but there are some easy to recognize card combinations that are ridiculously overpowered here. For the last two chapters of the game, I was regularly winning battles by two to three hundred points--often destroying all of my opponent's cards in the process. The only challenge was the final battle, which required a mild re-tooling of my deck.

    Another minor gripe was the game economy. Granted, I didn't craft much, and I explored a lot--but I finished the game with over 70 000 spare gold, 15000 spare wood and around 800 unused recruits. Maybe the developers wanted players to feel free to craft as they wished, and there are definite arguments for that. However, I hardly felt like a hard up and desperate battle commander. It wasn't necessary to make strategic choices with my resources, because I ultimately had more than enough to spare.

    I should say, the puzzles were fun and challenging throughout (though again, easier in the later acts?) I think the game would benefit from exploiting the "build a deck to overcome specific challenges" theme...this is a strength of the Hearthstone expansions. Despite the excellent story--and the ever-present fun of smashing Nilfgaardians--the battles became tedious after two acts of one deck smashing everything sight.

    So, all in all, an exceptional and polished game. As an RPG, it hits all of the right notes. As a strategic card game, it is mostly excellent, but in need of some re-balancing.
    Expand
  39. Oct 24, 2018
    10
    Game is masterpiece. At the beginning I was sceptical about the game. but after 10 hrs in the game I am very happy I gave it a try. Game remindes me MTG duels of planewalkers I played when I was young. I am enjoying the exploration, story and puzzles served by the game. 10/10
  40. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    I fell in love with this game.
    Must have for all witcher fans
    Great story and lovely characters.
  41. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    I am usually not a big fan of card games but this one is different.
    You have an really good story that delivers background to each battle. If you are interested in the Witcher series, this will satisfy you, as you traverse the beatifully drawn maps of Lyria, Aedirn, Mahakam and more.
    The game does not only deliver in quality but also in quantity. You can easily spend 30+ hours on this
    I am usually not a big fan of card games but this one is different.
    You have an really good story that delivers background to each battle. If you are interested in the Witcher series, this will satisfy you, as you traverse the beatifully drawn maps of Lyria, Aedirn, Mahakam and more.

    The game does not only deliver in quality but also in quantity. You can easily spend 30+ hours on this game because there is just so much to discover. Amazing characters with interestning backstories, sidequests and puzzles which can be quite challenging.

    That said there are a lot of magic moments in this game, but you should for yourself.

    The game is gives me everything I could ask for a game priced at 30$. Visuals, story, gameplay and not to forget the amazing soundtrack, all these things are truly on point. Therefore I rate this game 10/10. There is nothing comparable to this: in short the best card game I've ever played and a good RPG on top.
    Expand
  42. Oct 24, 2018
    10
    Great game. I belief those low scores is from competition workers. For this price it is definitle worth it.
  43. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    The story is wonderful, the characters are charismatic as they feel with a story behind, the original touch that they have given the game with that atmosphere and colors depending on the area where we are together with the card battles and texts that advance while the characters talk and decisions this paerece me a game that can not go unnoticed by all the fans of the saga The Witcher orThe story is wonderful, the characters are charismatic as they feel with a story behind, the original touch that they have given the game with that atmosphere and colors depending on the area where we are together with the card battles and texts that advance while the characters talk and decisions this paerece me a game that can not go unnoticed by all the fans of the saga The Witcher or the experts of the Gwent. An authentic wonder recommended. Expand
  44. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    Great Game. Nice plot, fantastic gameplay and voice over! Like a good tale by the fire!
  45. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    mixed Heroes3 and Gwent, if you like them = game is for you.
    This game should be released on mobile, it will be great on-the-go
  46. Oct 23, 2018
    7
    I was hoping for a bit more. The card battles aren't as good as they could be. It's still a good game but not a great game.
  47. Oct 28, 2018
    5
    Mediocre indie game based around a dull CCG. After reading the good user reviews on Gog.com and on metacritic, i decided to buy the game. I like ccg's like hearthstone and MTG, i like RPG's like DOS, DOS II, Dragon age and i prefer single player games above multiplayer, so i thought Thronebreaker would be an ideal combination for me. After playing the game for a few hours, i still have toMediocre indie game based around a dull CCG. After reading the good user reviews on Gog.com and on metacritic, i decided to buy the game. I like ccg's like hearthstone and MTG, i like RPG's like DOS, DOS II, Dragon age and i prefer single player games above multiplayer, so i thought Thronebreaker would be an ideal combination for me. After playing the game for a few hours, i still have to find out what's even good about this game, i'm not intrigued by the story, the map makes it look like a game from a decade ago and the main thing: the card game is just boring and gives me a feeling of waisting my time.
    I'm wondering where all those 10/10 reviews come from?
    Expand
  48. Oct 26, 2018
    9
    This game is a must have for every witcher games or books fan.

    What was supposed to be a free singleplayer content inside gwent witcher game. Turned out into a great addition to the witcher universe and its story. Story depicts a Second Northern War from a very interesting point of view queen of Lyria and Rivia Meve. Game often makes you choose between two or more hard decisions.
    This game is a must have for every witcher games or books fan.

    What was supposed to be a free singleplayer content inside gwent witcher game. Turned out into a great addition to the witcher universe and its story.

    Story depicts a Second Northern War from a very interesting point of view queen of Lyria and Rivia Meve. Game often makes you choose between two or more hard decisions. Almost every decision can affect the game in some way.
    The game also adds some new interesting characters and stories which weren't known before. Everything fits very well to the harsh witcher series.

    Gwent combat system is interesting and doesn't get boring for the most part. What i had a problem with is the difficulty in battles with your deck that you can upgrade throughout the game. You don't really need to build any specific deck for any encounters, not even in the hardest difficulty. You can steamroll most fights with random deck with no synergies. What made me stay interested in the gwent combat were the puzzles and custom deck battles which felt unique and some even challenging.
    The only fight which was hard was the very last one. I actually had to change my deck to counter his.
    Hopefully devs will make the future witcher tales more difficult in terms of combat.

    Art style is unique and fits very well. Voice-acting and music are excellent and immersive.
    Expand
  49. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Lovely game with sweet graphics and rewarding fun game play. I didnt enjoy any game this much from the last games i played
  50. Nov 7, 2018
    10
    Really great game. Splending writing, nice animation and... what can I say, I like Gwent.
  51. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    The story is amazing and if you don't mind there is no gameplay (I'm too old for this anyway) it'll be a 10/10 for you too.
  52. Nov 9, 2018
    5
    Fantastic story and well-written characters without a doubt. Game is incredibly enjoyable and would recommend for a great and interesting story. However, I will focus on the negative parts of this game:
    - No firm strategy: when you enter battle, you get a hand of random cards with the option to shuffle a few times. Since the cards drawn are all random, there is no decisive strategy to it.
    Fantastic story and well-written characters without a doubt. Game is incredibly enjoyable and would recommend for a great and interesting story. However, I will focus on the negative parts of this game:
    - No firm strategy: when you enter battle, you get a hand of random cards with the option to shuffle a few times. Since the cards drawn are all random, there is no decisive strategy to it. The randomness offers a lot of variety without a doubt, but it kills the need of a well-thought out battle plan. Instead, you end up forfeiting and resetting until you get the cards that you just need for the coming battle. There is an ambush-aspect in this game which should have been the only aspect that offer random cards. RNG is most notable during the final battle, where you need those specific cards you'll rarely get.
    - Can't experience it all in a single run: if you prefer to fully experience a game in a single run, then this game is not recommended for you. In certain situations you are presented with multiple choices, however choosing one option will autosave the game after the short narrative ends. Although this forces the player to properly think through every choice, it doesn't offer the full game experience. There is no quicksave and quickload option, meaning you are not able to find out what would happen if you chose option B instead of option A. There are choices that will impact you later in the game, however that is another matter and cannot be changed.
    - Repetitive: this game offers a steep learning curve for new players, but it gets easier to master after that. Once you've got a full grip of the mechanics, done quite a few puzzles and battles, it ends up becoming rather stale. The first few puzzles you solve gives you an amazing feeling, but as you continue to encounter them, it becomes bothersome and pointless.

    - Minor issues: conscripts that are given in abundance when you have no use for that many. Few bugs, none too concerning.

    EDIT: the battle "upper keep" (final mission) is almost entirely RNG-based. You cannot win unless you get those lucky cards, and the opponent doesn't draw a card worth 75 and boosts by 10. Doesn't matter how well you've played, since luck is the only way you'll win and it is frustrating.
    Expand
  53. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    [Sorry for my broken English]

    First of all, i'm a cold and sad person, i've seen a lot in my life and i get very rarely surprised or like something. Thronebreaker is one of the rare things that i like, i didn't expect much, i knew it will be a good game cuz CDPR made, but damn.. I'm just speechless. Sadly i can't rate this game 11/10 because it deserves much more than a 10. All the
    [Sorry for my broken English]

    First of all, i'm a cold and sad person, i've seen a lot in my life and i get very rarely surprised or like something. Thronebreaker is one of the rare things that i like, i didn't expect much, i knew it will be a good game cuz CDPR made, but damn.. I'm just speechless. Sadly i can't rate this game 11/10 because it deserves much more than a 10. All the characters, the story, THE MUSIC! I'm a big fan from good music, i don't listen to Hip-Hop, Rap etc. i listen only to deep, meaning full and good sounding music (Rock/Classic), and the music in Thronebreaker just makes me feel.

    I recommend this to anyone who cares about a good game.
    Expand
  54. Oct 23, 2018
    1
    Gwent is quite bad card game mechanically, and a game that you have already played, this time published again with a lame story wrapped around it.
    It has almost nothing to do with earlier awesome Witcher games, word "witcher" is present in title only to sell more copies.
    I cant recommend it to anyone. Unless you like bad games, then feel free to buy it.
  55. Oct 25, 2018
    0
    My previous review was flagged out of existence, so I'll keep this review as dry and impersonal as possible: I personally find this game to be dull and distasteful, and a blatant ripoff for its asking price. If you like it, good on you and I'm happy for you. For everyone else: spend your money elsewhere.
  56. Oct 23, 2018
    1
    I am unable to go to the main menu due to video black screen, audio and subtitles works fine.
  57. Nov 11, 2018
    1
    This game is really bad. This is just using Witcher IP for selling the game.
    Card game mechanics are bad, rpg is bland it maybe buy it on 90% sale
  58. Nov 12, 2018
    3
    Witcher 3 is meh, this is just bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  59. Nov 11, 2018
    6
    I have played for Thronebreaker and Gwent card game for last 5 days... Thronebreaker has an interesting story mode. Ordinary fights are quite easy but puzzle quest let your brain start working)
    For the music no comments... it's just awesome. What I don't like that cards in TB game and cards in Gwent is different, have different power and different skills. Some of the cards you found in TB
    I have played for Thronebreaker and Gwent card game for last 5 days... Thronebreaker has an interesting story mode. Ordinary fights are quite easy but puzzle quest let your brain start working)
    For the music no comments... it's just awesome. What I don't like that cards in TB game and cards in Gwent is different, have different power and different skills. Some of the cards you found in TB can be used in Gwent game, frames etc.

    This game should be exclusive on GOG only, bought it for 199 Yuan(29USD), then I found that in 5 days TB has released at Steam and price is 128 Yuan( 18 USD).
    Expand
  60. Nov 11, 2018
    3
    The Thronebreaker is an excellent witcher-world tale, a mediocre game and a disgusting business practice at the same time.

    The story is at the level to be expected of a witcher game. The atmosphere of a war-torn world is so vivid and real, the backbone topics of treachery and retribution, crimes and the necessity of their punishment are so persistent, that it is a pleasure to make
    The Thronebreaker is an excellent witcher-world tale, a mediocre game and a disgusting business practice at the same time.

    The story is at the level to be expected of a witcher game. The atmosphere of a war-torn world is so vivid and real, the backbone topics of treachery and retribution, crimes and the necessity of their punishment are so persistent, that it is a pleasure to make choices. The latter are accompanied by distinctive characters and brilliantly-written dialogues. All of these make the "witcher-tale" deep, mature and really enjoyable.

    Production quality is also at the highest level. Every technical aspect of the game may be put in the range between "excellent" and "brilliant". Also I experienced no performance issues or bugs in the whole walkthrough.

    The "Thronebreaker" starts to lose points when it comes to core game mechanics: combat, puzzles, exploration and "technology", Combat is based on "Gwent: the Witcher cardgame" and it is ridiculously easy, even on the highest difficulty. Every meaningful deck design beats any battle with an enormous advantage. The exceptions are the final battle and maybe a couple in the fourth chapter, where some minor deck adjustments are necessary. The supremacy turns combat into a boring, tedious, time-wasting chore. When you battle similar enemies in a short period of time the effect is felt much stronger.

    With no real need to improve the deck, the necessity to invest into "technology" (camp investment) also loses sense. The latter makes resource gathering redundant. Thus, the exploration turns into the following: time-wasting battles, time-wasting scrapping, bright story moments and puzzles. So the game value per se drops to range between 5 and 8, depending on how much you like time-wasting and puzzles.

    What really puts the "Thronebreaker" into red numbers, is the downfall of CD Project Red from the user-friendliest company (in the blessed times of Witcher 1 and 2) to standard industry practices. The game is just a piece of "Gwent: tWCG" content (much-needed content), ripped off and and sold for an AAA game price, the price that is higher than that of The-Best-Game-Ever of the very same developer.
    Expand
  61. Nov 12, 2018
    9
    The best written game I've seen in a long time. It was full of hard decisions as you'd expect from Witcher world.

    It was 30 hours of pure pleasure. It had some small or bigger bugs (nothing game-breaking and most likely they will be addressed in next patch). The plot was great and whole game was like super evolved audio book with elements of Gwent in between. I am not a big card games
    The best written game I've seen in a long time. It was full of hard decisions as you'd expect from Witcher world.

    It was 30 hours of pure pleasure. It had some small or bigger bugs (nothing game-breaking and most likely they will be addressed in next patch). The plot was great and whole game was like super evolved audio book with elements of Gwent in between. I am not a big card games fan, but the battle mechanic here was well balanced. Game could sometimes be challenging (but not dumb hard) but overall difficulty level was very well designed (i played on the hardest one). Riddles were always amazing. Overall it was great to come back to Witcher's world and i hope they will continue with other Witcher Tales :)
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Nov 12, 2018
    90
    It is rare that a multi-genre game can be successful in more than one of its mechanics, but Thronebreaker is simultaneously an excellently written story, an entertaining isometric RPG, and an addictive and engaging card game. Finally, for fans of The Witcher universe, it gives us another excuse to live in that richly-imagined world. For me at least, Thronebreaker came out of nowhere and was a very happy surprise indeed.
  2. Nov 9, 2018
    90
    An exquisite combination of deep storytelling and refined card game combat mechanics, Thronebreaker delivers an exceptional RPG experience that not many developers can achieve these days. It's a pity that Geralt's saga has ended after just three games, but Thronebreaker is definitely going to quench your thirst for anything The Witcher related, at least for a while.
  3. Nov 8, 2018
    80
    CD Projekt Red have delivered an exceptional adventure in Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales. One that any Witcher fan should not hesitate to experience. While Gwent is undeniably fun, it falls short of its full potential in a single-player only game with AI opponents.